secretreeve

looking for volunteer programmer.

Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:44 pm

so basicaly i thought i'd post it up here as its relevant to media centers.

those 16x2 LCD screens, HD44780's.

is anyone able to write a "plugin" or "add-on" for raspbmc that will take the current playing file name, current playtime and total playtime (of playing video) and output this to one of those screens?

i've asked in other sections here but only help i've been given is links to other sites/threads about it but im not a programmer and i do not understand this stuff.

so basically looking for one person to step up and say "hi, i can do that for you".

the screen is hooked up (and powers up, woot) by the gpio pins. would be handy if it updated the output every second (as i understand it, the output to the screen would require the program to send an "updated" output?)

anyway, anyone able to do this little one for me? tried over on raspbmc forums but didnt get very far. more people needing help over there than people who can give help it would seem.

trouch

Re: looking for volunteer programmer.

Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:35 pm

You may take a look at http://lcdproc.org/ which can control serial LCD screen.
It can also control HD44780 throught the LPT port.
I think it can be modified to use the GPIO instead.
I'm also thinking about a LPT driver which will use the GPIOs...

It appears that some people already connected an LCD to the Pi :
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?p=82643
http://hackaday.com/2012/06/28/using-an ... pberry-pi/

WebIOPi - Raspberry Pi REST Framework to control your Pi from the web
http://store.raspberrypi.com/projects/webiopi
http://code.google.com/p/webiopi/
http://trouch.com

secretreeve

Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:02 pm

i know this but i need help with the programming to extract data from raspbmc and display it on the screen,

the screen is wired up, just needs someone to volunteer to help with the program so it has a use

welshblob

Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:05 pm