precious_pony

Java experiences?

Tue May 22, 2012 11:16 pm

Hi,

I'm a Java programmer mostly. I've been developing a lot of currently unreleased projects for the past few years (all server side code - no client GUI). I really wish to try out my code on a resource constrained environment like the PI.

I have some questions though.

How does the filesystem work on the PI. It running off the SD card right? Does that mean that if I perform file IO in my application it will be extremely slow or will the OS cache writes for me? Is the temp folder mapped to RAM or to the SD card?

I'm also curious as to the performance, and if JIT is enabled or disabled on the v6 ARM architecture.

PP

chrisg

Re: Java experiences?

Wed May 23, 2012 8:58 am

I recently ran the Dacapo benchmark suite on three different JVMs on a Raspberry Pi - I'll put the results somewhere.

If you're writing server code, try the Oracle Embedded SE JVM first. It includes a good Hotspot JIT (C1) so is reasonably fast, but it's headless only and not open.

OpenJDK has a few JIT options, including Cacao. This was roughly half the speed of the Oracle one.

I'm no expert, but Linux should do what it can to buffer writes to SD card and hold tmpfs in memory, free RAM permitting.

precious_pony

Wed May 23, 2012 5:01 pm

Thanks ChrisG...

I'd love to see the results of the benchmarks, and it would be helpful if you could include the source code of the benchmarks to be able to test relative x86 performance (if they are not confidential).

chrisg

Wed May 23, 2012 5:54 pm

The benchmarks are here. I'll post my results when I get home.

http://dacapobench.org/

chrisg

Wed May 23, 2012 7:50 pm

I tested with three JVMs, using Java 6 for OpenJDK and Java 7 from Oracle. The reason for using the older OpenJDK is that I believe Cacao JIT isn't (or wasn't) yet supported on OpenJDK 7 in the standard Debian packages.

Details here:

My Pi: Debian Squeeze
Standard Debian Image - no overclocking