ffrlr

Gambas & WiringPi

Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:08 pm

Hi everyone

I am very new to linux, but following threads on here have managed to get my pi up and running Gambas 3.21.
I am quite familiar with VB6, and was hoping to use this knowledge to play around with Gambas on the pi, which seems to be going ok so far.
What I would like to do next is controlling I2C devices from Gambas, has anyone had any success with using Gordon's WiringPi library with Gambas?
If so would you be able to give me some idea of how to start (test program or example) please.
I have no C knowledge at all, and have always used Windows and the VB6 enviroment for programming and developing code, although I have hardware design experience and microprocessor programming in assembler (8051 / PIC etc).

I have trawled the www but can't seem to find anything relevant.

Regards
Tony.

kru64

Re: Gambas & WiringPi

Tue Mar 19, 2013 7:04 pm

Hi Tony!
I'm hardware engineer too. And as you in my work I use VB6. And of course I use Raspberry Pi as another convinient device. In particular I use RaspberryPi to read or to write any register on smth chip by I2C. It can be done by any language. But I preffer namely Gambas, because it's practically VB6.
First find at this forum and download gpiotest-0.0.1.tar It's main test programm
If you look at I2c protocol - it's very simple. So write about (I'm lazy to check all bits sequence).

' Gambas class file

'external function definitions for wiringPi Library
'
Library "/usr/local/lib/libwiringPi"
Public Extern wiringPiSetupGpio() As Integer
Public Extern digitalReadGpio(pin As Integer) As Integer
Public Extern digitalWriteGpio(pin As Integer, value As Integer)
Public Extern pinModeGpio(pin As Integer, pud As Integer)
Public Extern pullUpDnControlGpio(pin As Integer, mode As Integer)
Public Extern pwmWriteGpio(pin As Integer, value As Integer)