Z80 Refugee

Accessing GPIO I/O Pins from Forth, and How to Use Them

Sun Mar 11, 2018 3:14 pm

. . . . .

NB: This article has been written and developed over a significant period of time, with a number of errors and incorrect assumptions corrected when discovered, and new content added. If you haven't looked at it for a while, but aim to try these things out, it would be as well to review the latest version.

Last significant update (not minor corrections or adjustments of presentation): 21/05/2018

. . . . .

Introduction

This article is for people familiar with the Forth programming language but unfamiliar with using a Raspberry Pi, or people familiar with using the RPi but who might like to explore Forth for the first time. It is probably not for people unfamiliar with either the RPi or Forth, who may be better off with another introduction to the RPi and programming, but nonetheless, by following the instructions exactly, even a complete novice should (hopefully) succeed.

Forth as a programming language is closely coupled to the computer hardware it runs on, and is therefore very useful for "physical computing" (the control of hardware mechanisms such as lights, motors, switches etc). Forth is interpreted rather than compiled, so anything you can do in a program file can also be done directly on the command line - and program development provides instant gratification because you test in small steps as you develop the program. But beware: Forth makes you think for yourself instead of relying on sophisticated compilers to do all the heavy lifting.

The Raspberry Pi (RPi) is a small, cheap, single-board computer highly suited to (and originally designed for) experimenting with physical computing. As well as providing sufficient processor power and system resources to run complete personal-computer desktop operating systems and office suites, it has connections that can be used for operating external circuits under program control.