mike808

SPI communication

Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:32 pm

I have a SPI device that I'd like to communicate with using the PI. I was planning on using spidev API to do so but had a few questions since I'm a newbie to SPI. Looking at some arduino code, I see methods like:

Code: Select all

void Adafruit_ILI9340::writecommand(uint8_t c) {
  CLEAR_BIT(dcport, dcpinmask);
  //digitalWrite(_dc, LOW);
  CLEAR_BIT(clkport, clkpinmask);
  //digitalWrite(_sclk, LOW);
  CLEAR_BIT(csport, cspinmask);
  //digitalWrite(_cs, LOW);

spiwrite(c);

SET_BIT(csport, cspinmask);
  //digitalWrite(_cs, HIGH);
}

void Adafruit_ILI9340::writedata(uint8_t c) {
  SET_BIT(dcport,  dcpinmask);
  //digitalWrite(_dc, HIGH);
  CLEAR_BIT(clkport, clkpinmask);
  //digitalWrite(_sclk, LOW);
  CLEAR_BIT(csport, cspinmask);
  //digitalWrite(_cs, LOW);

spiwrite(c);

//digitalWrite(_cs, HIGH);
  SET_BIT(csport, cspinmask);
} 
Using spidev, do I need to set and clear bits when writing to the SPI bus or is that already handled for me? Also, it's used like this:

Code: Select all

writecommand(0xCB);  
  writedata(0x39); 
  writedata(0x2C); 
  writedata(0x00); 
  writedata(0x34); 
  writedata(0x02); 

writecommand(0xF7);  
  writedata(0x20);
What is the data following the command and how does that differ from writing the command itself when using the SPI bus?

My goal here is to understand more about SPI and to use an SPI device with the raspberry PI instead of just the arduino.

Thanks everyone!

halhertani

Re: SPI communication

Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:03 pm