higgins-demack
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:01 am

Porting cmake

Sat Jul 07, 2012 11:58 pm

The good news: It works. Just build from source using the instructions in the cmake (2.8.8) distro.

The bad news: You can't do it in a terminal on the desktop. Compiling goes smoothly but the linker bombs. It guess it runs out of memory. Kill off everything but the "bare" command line and do your "make" from there.

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3223
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Porting cmake

Sun Jul 08, 2012 5:48 pm

Which distro are you using and is there something wrong with the cmake they are shipping?

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 17780
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Porting cmake

Mon Jul 09, 2012 1:41 am

I just installed the distro cmake - seemed to work fine. Quite a while ago though.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

higgins-demack
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:01 am

Re: Porting cmake

Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:12 am

To answer the question by plugwash, I'm using Debian. There's nothing wrong with the repository version as far as I'm aware, but last time I looked it was several points behind the latest release.

jdbennet
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:25 pm

Re: Porting cmake

Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:38 pm

CMake makes cross-compiling very easy..... just run it on your desktop?

mnajera
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Porting cmake

Wed Jul 25, 2012 9:51 pm

I can confirm that cmake builds under Raspian, at least from the basic terminal (without running X). It took a very long time to build, though.

Return to “C/C++”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests