david_wallis

GPIO Programming and Interrupts

Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:29 pm

Hi,

I'm new to programming in C.. (normally do programming/scripting in vb.net, vbs and more recently powershell (Can see a windows theme here)

Howevr I've been trying to slowly pick it up since first reading about the raspberry PI as until I heard about them I was hacking a Linksys Router running DD-WRT to get a 'low cost' linux platform with network connectivity.

I have a number of uses for the raspberry pi, but a couple in particular require the use of interrupts on the GPIO's, I dont really want to have a messy infinite loop wasting cpu cycles, so would rather write a daemon that deals with it and just runs a function when a pin either goes high or low...

So I have seen there are some firmware 'patches' to the kernel to enable this, and then dom saying that he would add it, so the question is how the hell do I tell whether I need to apply the fix?

I have done this:

wget http://goo.gl/1BOfJ -O /usr/bin/rpi-update && chmod +x /usr/bin/rpi-update
sudo apt-get install ca-certificates
sudo apt-get install git-core
rpi-update

And has anyone got any sample code they could ping across or pass a link to so I can see if get this working further than a few flashing LEDs that I have at the moment :D

Thanks in advance!

david_wallis

Re: GPIO Programming and Interrupts

Wed Jul 11, 2012 9:40 am

Anyone?

secretagent

Sun Jul 15, 2012 3:26 pm

There is an example that works on the pi here: https://www.ridgerun.com/developer/wiki ... int-test.c

david_wallis

Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:22 pm

Thankyou very much I will take a look and see if I can get this working :)

kenters915

Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:30 am

Does the example work with the newest version of raspbian without any patches (for interrupt support)? Thanks for any help. I would try it myself, but I'm waiting for another SD card to come and am curious.

Grumpy Mike

Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:16 pm