Craynerd

How to calculate moving average

Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:50 pm

Hi guys

I'm fairly new to python but have a script that is calculating the number of pulses every second - anywhere between 0 and 150.

However, a snapshot of one of these counts would be too random and they need smoothing with an average.

With my limited knowledge, I could count second one, count second two, ...three... Store then in separate variables and then every 30 seconds average all thirty variables, reset and start again. Ultimately, my output would be every 30 seconds for the average.

I've been told that there is a way to calculate a running/moving average, i.e 30 values stored, average taken. New input comes in every second, oldest value gets kicked out, new average taken. Consequently it is a smoother running average of the last 30 inputs and if needed the output can be taken every second.

Has anyone got a similar code or example they could send me? Or better still adapt my code!

Code: Select all

while True:
    time.sleep(1)
    count = wind_tally()   # brings through the new 1hz count
   print count - old-count   # prints latest count or could be count1 if averaging 
    old-count = count
In the code above, the print would become the new variable storage.
Count1 = count-old. ..next into count2... etc

Any help appreciated.

Chris

tenochtitlanuk

Re: How to calculate moving average

Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:13 pm

Simple way is to add 1/30 of the NEW value each time to 29/30 of the recorded current average.

For elegance you could take the first say 10 values and average them, and then start the loop described.
Of course such smoothing algorithms will adversely affect your ability to 'see' genuine sudden changes.

tenochtitlanuk

Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:21 pm

Example, throwing a totally random input in range 0<-->100, so the running average should settle near 50...
Note I use Python3, so 'print' uses brackets...

import random, time

runAve =0

while True:
    time.sleep(1)