alexeames
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: Best book to learn python?

Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:42 pm

Since python is the language preferred/intended by the RasPi foundation, I thought I'd learn it. I've been going through the tutorial on the python site which is good, but in the past I have learnt programming languages from books. I like to get away from the screen as I stare at screens far too long already.

I've got some programming experience - starting with commodore pet 8k on BASIC, through BBC and Spectrum BASIC, onto REXX then QBASIC, then PERL and a bit of Javascript, with a large helping of HTML4. My most advanced stuff has been in PERL. (Banner serving and shopping cart - and several other web back-end scripts).

Any suggestions? A popular recommendation is Dive into Python. Any others? I might just do something very old-fashioned and visit a high-street bookshop to look through the titles. (Haven't bought a book in a shop for years LOL).

I am interested in tutorials too, but I want a book. Also, are there any applications in the pipeline to support learning python on the Pi?
Alex Eames RasPi.TV, RasP.iO

samarthwiz

Sat Mar 03, 2012 9:21 pm

This is the best book for kids Helloworld!

Books website: helloworldbook.com

andyl

Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:36 pm

I think that Dive Into Python will be OK.  Pilgrim is a fairly idiosyncratic writer - DiP contains plenty on Unicode, some of which the publisher has cocked up in the print version from what I read.

Maybe Learning Python would suit.  It isn't a complete newbie guide to programming with Python but aimed at a novice programmer like Dive Into Python.

If you characterise your programming experience as quite strong then Programming in Python 3: A Complete Introduction to the Python Language (2nd Edition) might be better

alexeames
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:54 pm

Thanks both. I'm interested in both angles actually. I want to get advanced myself but I also want to teach it to kids.