sandpiper42

Problem reading from serial with Python script

Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:49 am

I am relatively new to raspberry and I'm trying to connect it to an Arduino using the raspberry USB.
I have determined that the raspberry serial port is /dev/ttyUSB0 and from the Python console I can send the following commands one at a time:

import serial
ser=serial.Serial('/dev/USB0', 9600, timeout=1)
ser.write('1')
(echo '1' on terminal screen)
# When arduino receives a single character it returns a temperature reading and I read it from rasberry as follows:
print ser.readline()
(echo '21.23' on terminal screen)

Everything above works as expected from the console (ie the raspberry receives and prints the temperature value), but when I build a Python script and with the exact same lines of code and run it from the terminal it prints a line feed. I have tried adding a pause between writing and reading to the arduino to no avail. I am scratching my head on this one.

Note: I have tried unplugging all USB devices from the raspberry except the arduino and using ssh from my PC, and various combinations thereof including USB keyboard on raspberry & no ssh. Same result - it will work from python console, but not a python script.

Any ideas? Thanks.

cae2100

Re: Problem reading from serial with Python script

Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:18 pm

try to use the code tags, it makes it alot easier to diagnose problems, also, change serial.readline() to serial.read() instead, may do what you want.

Code: Select all

import serial
ser=serial.Serial('/dev/USB0', 9600, timeout=1)
ser.write('1')        #(echo '1' on terminal screen)
# When arduino receives a single character it returns a temperature reading and I read it from rasberry as follows:
print ser.read()
(echo '21.23' on terminal screen)
If it isnt smoking and blown into pieces, it's not pushed far enough yet. :P
http://cae2100.wordpress.com

sandpiper42

Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:17 am

Thanks for the tip re: code tags.