pescew

Render pi3d over omxplayer on pi4

Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:03 pm

Using pi3d v2.33 and "use_glx=True" I'm able to display pi3d with transparency enabled on the pi4, but omxplayer is always rendered overtop the pi3d display.

If I set "omxplayer --layer -128" it does not display at all. "omxplayer --layer -127" displays, but again overtop the pi3d window.

Results are the same whether X11 desktop is enabled or disabled.

Does anyone have experience with this on the pi4? I am new to pi3d, so I assume I'm just overlooking something simple.

Code: Select all

DISPLAY = pi3d.Display.create(x=100, y=100, w=1280, h=720, layer=2, frames_per_second=60, background=(0.0,0.0,0.25,0.25), use_glx=True, window_title='pi3d test')

omxprocess = subprocess.Popen(['omxplayer',VID_FILE,'--loop','--no-osd','--win','100,100,500,500','--layer','-127'],stdin=subprocess.PIPE,stdout=None,stderr=None,bufsize=0)

paddyg

Re: Render pi3d over omxplayer on pi4

Tue Dec 10, 2019 10:45 pm

Ages since I've looked at omxplayer. Does it have an option to make it play in an X11 window? It sounds like it's playing directly to dispmanx and it's no longer possible (well not very easy - aka I don't know how) to run OpenGL to dispanx. I will have a look around and see what I can find - doesn't look hopeful on first skim.
also https://groups.google.com/forum/?hl=en-GB&fromgroups=#!forum/pi3d

pescew

Wed Dec 11, 2019 12:50 am

Thanks for the fast reply Paddy,

After some searching it looks like it's definitely outputting to dispmanx which is handled differently on the pi4?

Couldn't find anything official, so I compiled this x11 wrapper for omxplayer, but the resulting video was still outputting to dispmanx:

https://github.com/padgettr/xomxplayer

I ended up abandoning omxplayer completely. From what I've read ffmpeg should support hw-decoding on the pi4, so I'm using ffplay instead. Pi3d is able to draw overtop the ffplay window without issue: