matrixratrix

os.path to network pc

Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:51 am

Hello,

I'm pretty new at this and I'm still trying to get into the basics, for now I came across a problem that is burning my head.

So, I have this Python script:

Code: Select all

import os
if os.path.exists ("\\\\192.168.1.3\\maq//"):
  print ("OKK")
else:
  print ("NOT OKK")
The Ip 192.168.1.3 is one pc on network that have a share folder.

This script return "true" on any pc on network (windons os), but the same script in raspberry always returns false,

I can only check paths inside raspberry (Like "/home/pi" return true), I can not check paths in another pc connected to the network that
have that has shared folders.

Any special reason? do I have to enable some output permission on raspian?

hippy

Re: os.path to network pc

Sat Sep 15, 2018 5:52 pm

Beyond saying that Raspbian / Linux probably doesn't include Microsoft Windows network share access by default, and you might need to set up Samba or something to handle it, I can't give you an answer but can confirm what you are seeing with Raspbian Stretch, Python 2.7 -

import os

path = "//192.168.0.207/Android"

if os.path.isdir(path)  : print "Okay isdir("+path+")"
else                    : print "FAIL isdir("+path+")"

if os.path.exists(path) : print "Okay exists("+path+")"
else                    : print "FAIL exists("+path+")"
Run on Windows XP with the "Android" share on a Windows 7 PC, absolutely fine "Okay" in both cases.

On Raspbian "FAIL" in both cases".

Unsurprisingly "Dir \\192.168.0.207\Android" works on XP, "ls //192.168.0.207/Android" doesn't.

Update: This worked for me ...

[email protected]:~$ mkdir -p ./win
[email protected]:~$ sudo mount //192.168.0.207/Android ./win
Password for [email protected]//192.168.0.207/Android:
[email protected]:~$ cd ./win
[email protected]:~/win$ ls
Android Studio     Projects - App Inventor 2  <redacted>
[email protected]:~/win$