pravinyouwin
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:42 am

Stacking Piface Relay Plus boards on Raspberry PI??

Sat Aug 05, 2017 4:16 am

Hello Guys,
I hope i will find a solution for this question:

"PiFace Relay documentation" (see attached) i see up to 8 RELAY PLUS boards can be stacked on PI.
But never found one example on web.

It mentioned how to assign addresses for different boards using address bits JP1, JP2, JP3. But really I couldn't find any documentation/examples how to do for multiple boards. (using Python)

I tried different python commands to access the second piface relay plus, but not successful. I hope Some one should have tried this.

pfr.relays[0].toggle() --------> "1st piface 1st relay "

please help me how can i do for the second PiFace relay plus.
Attachments
piface relay 2.png
Shows the address bits for multiple boards
piface relay 2.png (59.2 KiB) Viewed 340 times
piface realy1.png
Address bits JP1,JP2, JP3
piface realy1.png (101.66 KiB) Viewed 340 times

pcmanbob
Posts: 1750
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:28 pm
Location: Mansfield UK

Re: Stacking Piface Relay Plus boards on Raspberry PI??

Sat Aug 05, 2017 7:46 pm

Hi.

Having looked at the documentation nothing jumped out at me about controlling multiple boards apart from how to programme the board addresses which you already posted as this is a commercial product you might be better asking the people who make it.
it looks like the only way to contact them is via facebook or twitter, could find no email address for them.
Please only ask questions in the forum I will not answer questions sent to me directly via PM
Remember we want information.......................no information no help

klricks
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Stacking Piface Relay Plus boards on Raspberry PI??

Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:02 pm

Have a look at this YT https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RrOVivCcAU
Go full screen and pause the video at at ~0:30 to 0:32 showing code on the laptop screen.

Look at the syntax at the end of the pfr2. statement.
I think is says: pfr2 = ........RELAY, hardware_addr = 1)
Looks like you would use pfr2. for the second board etc.......
Go here for my RPi writeup. Basic config, Serial Port add-on etc:
http://blackeagle12.net/Comp/RPi/Rpi.html Click contact icon then world icon --->

pravinyouwin
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:42 am

Re: Stacking Piface Relay Plus boards on Raspberry PI??

Tue Aug 08, 2017 4:02 am

klricks wrote:
Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:02 pm
Have a look at this YT https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9RrOVivCcAU
Go full screen and pause the video at at ~0:30 to 0:32 showing code on the laptop screen.

Look at the syntax at the end of the pfr2. statement.
I think is says: pfr2 = ........RELAY, hardware_addr = 1)
Looks like you would use pfr2. for the second board etc.......

Great!! I watched this video couple of days back. But I barely Looked at this.
Thanks, you answered my question.

(This morning I run my program without pfr, it showed me error something like this hardware_addr=0 missing)
Thank You Again. Mostly it should work, Will let You know if this work or no.

pcmanbob
Posts: 1750
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:28 pm
Location: Mansfield UK

Re: Stacking Piface Relay Plus boards on Raspberry PI??

Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:08 am

Look at your jumper settings for J1, J2, J3 make sure the bottom board in your stack has jumpers set for addr = 0 and the next board in your stack has jumpers set for addr = 1 and so on if you have more boards.

your previous post has the jumper settings listed its the first 2 in the list.
Please only ask questions in the forum I will not answer questions sent to me directly via PM
Remember we want information.......................no information no help

Return to “Python”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests