antonioag

Parsing Weather info from XML

Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:22 pm

Hi buddies,
I'm a beginner with the Raspberry Pi. I don't know how to parse an XML code downloaded from internet and show on the terminal only whatever I want to see.

Let me explain you. I want to retrieve some temp data from a site which gives them in XML.
The code is something like that:

Code: Select all

<Weather Refresh="10">
              <locality name="Rome" lat="41,53" lon="12,28" alt="21">
              <situation temperature="23°C" temperatureF="73,4°F" flag="" humidity="73%" pression="1019 mb" wind="8 SE km/h" windKN="4,1 SE kn">
                  <description>clear sky</description>
                  <lastUpdate>20:50</lastUpdate>
             </situation>
             <ephemeris sunrise="6:55" sunset="18:39"/>
          </locality>
And here other forecast stuff which I don't care at the moment. How can I parse the code and show for example only celsius temperature, pression and humidity? Thanks everyone and sorry but this is everything new for me!

tom.slick

Re: Parsing Weather info from XML

Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:28 pm

python has built-in support for xml

https://docs.python.org/2/library/xml.dom.minidom.html

Simple example

from xml.dom import minidom
xmldoc = minidom.parse('yourxmlfile.xml')
entry = xmldoc.getElementsByTagName('situation')
print entry[0].attributes['temperature'].value

antonioag

Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:55 pm

Wow it worked thank you!
I've added the option to automatically download the file from internet and show updated data through "urllib" and it's working fine. I've also added the "print" of "humidity" and "pression", but they belong to "situation" node, same as "temperature"

Now I have 3 more questions:
1) I've tried to show data from other node like "name" and "alt" which belong to "locality" with the command

entry = xmldoc.getElementsByTagName('locality')
but it's not working.