Script fails after some hours

Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:45 am

Hi

I need to post a command from my pi 2 to a lan pc depending on state of 2 gpio pins.

Ignoring the gpio states, if I fire off a command using curl from the pi, at any time, works great. Payload of 500 sets it on, payload of 100 set it off, no issues ever with curl so I am sure the fundamentals work.

Then running this python script using gpio states via cron -e at boot to watch the gpio states works fine for maybe a few hours, sometimes days. But then it fails. Damn it! btw, the gpio are connected to go high if a momentary switch connects them to 3.3v, this also all works fine initially.

I am a total noob to python, looking for some pointers how to proceed, log errors (?) maybe or add some sort of watchdog? Am I missing some obvious aspect to the code to prevent it failing?

Thanks for any ideas

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/env python

# GPIO 23 & 24 set up as inputs. Both are pulled down.
# 23 and 24 will go to 3V3 (3.3V) when momentary button is pushed.

# 23 is POST ON
# 24 is POST OFF

import time
import RPi.GPIO as GPIO
GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
import requests

# handle the button event
def my_callback(channel):

time.sleep(0.5)

if GPIO.input(23):
		payload = {'relay': '500'}
		r = requests.post("http://192.168.0.2:80/relay", data=payload)
		time.sleep(2)

else:
			if GPIO.input(24):
				payload = {'relay': '100'}
				time.sleep(2)

# setup pins

GPIO.setup(23, GPIO.IN)
GPIO.setup(24, GPIO.IN)

# tell the GPIO library to look out for an 
# event on pins deal with it by calling 
# the buttonEventHandler ON/OFF functions

GPIO.add_event_detect(23, GPIO.RISING, callback=my_callback, bouncetime=5000)
GPIO.add_event_detect(24, GPIO.RISING, callback=my_callback, bouncetime=5000)

while True:

time.sleep(2)

GPIO.cleanup()       # clean up GPIO on CTRL+C exit

paddyg

Re: Script fails after some hours

Tue Apr 21, 2015 3:21 pm