joefly

Very Basic Python Questions

Thu May 31, 2012 4:15 pm

Hi
Last year, I started playing with python to integrate with Arduino. It has been a while since I touched it and it was on a basic level. So I feel like I am back to the very beginning.

I just got by RPi, and new to linux and basically python.

My questions are:
1) Is python native on the Debian distro, if so, how to access the programming environment? If not, how do I install it on the Debian.?

I tried searching around to find the answers but the question seems to be too basic..

Thanks

rurwin
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: Very Basic Python Questions

Thu May 31, 2012 4:56 pm

The latest Debian image comes with Python 2.6 already installed.

Python 2.7 is the latest, so you might want to upgrade it. But if you did, you would have to compile it from source. That's generally pretty simple, but I've not tried it on the RaspPi yet. I'll give it a go in the next few days and report back.

yeahbox

Thu May 31, 2012 5:35 pm

joefly wrote: 1) Is python native on the Debian distro, if so, how to access the programming environment? If not, how do I install it on the Debian.?
Yes, it is already installed. When you have logged in and you are at the console prompt write

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~$ python
and now you are in the most basic environment. Try:

>>> a = 45
>>> b = 2
>>> c = a+b
>>> print c
>>> print "Hello world!"
Hello world!
>>> 
When you are done testing and want to exit the environment write

>>> exit()
The next step is to make a little script instead. Try:

pi@raspberrypi:~$ nano test.py
Now write a little test script

def Add(a, b):
    result = a+b
    return result

print Add(4, 5)
print Add("cool", "stuff")
now press ctrl-x to save, press Y and Enter. To run write python test.py

pi@raspberrypi:~$ python test.py
coolstuff
pi@raspberrypi:~$

joefly

Thu May 31, 2012 7:24 pm

YeahBox!!! That is exactly what I needed!! So easy and basic but yet not obvious.