horizon2000

What OS and language to use for database project??

Mon Nov 12, 2018 9:23 pm

Hello,
I am not a programmer and I need some advise, please.
I thinking about using Raspberry Pi Zero W with a camera as a RFID/QR code reader with a small screen (3.5" - 8"). After reading a RFID code or capturing QR code and decoding it, I would like add some information and send it to a remote database.

I have couple of questions:
  • What operating system should I use?
  • What programming platform/language would be the best for it?
Thank you for your help,
Robert

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: What to use??

Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:42 am

Raspbian. .The asnwer is always Raspbian.

Python would work, C would work, C++ would work.

Use the one you know.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Please direct all questions to the forum, I do not do support via PM.

pfletch101

Re: What to use??

Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:35 pm

If you are 'not a programmer' but want to use this project as a way into programming, I would use Python. Despite its quirks, it has a more gentle learning curve than most other common languages. If you don't plan to become at least something of a programmer, I am not sure how you plan to accomplish your project.

DougieLawson

Re: What OS and language to use for database project??

Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:53 pm

What database?

What programming language do you know?
What programming language would you like to learn?
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

2012-18: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Z, ZW, 3Bs*3, 3B+

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

Heater

Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:51 pm

horizon2000,
I am not a programmer and I need some advise,
You have an interesting and fun road ahead. Be warned that it is a long and winding road.
What operating system should I use?