Copper2

Making robot follow gps

Tue Apr 24, 2018 11:25 pm

Could someone help me with my question, I want to make an autonomous ROV that’s like a submersible. I want it to have a fish finder to read the world around it and cameras, lights, pir sensors, and a gps. Is it possible to make it track it’s position when it surfaces and then go to a destination and back? Could anyone help me with a code that could work, I’m very new to raspberry’s and I’m more used to arduino which still baffles me somewhat!

topguy

Re: Making robot follow gps

Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:57 am

Is it possible to make it track it’s position when it surfaces and then go to a destination and back?
I'm not sure you understand how much engineering is needed just to make something that can go underwater and come up again.

As long as your robot can move and you can control which compass direction it is heading in, then its not that hard to have it go from one GPS location to another. Its just a bit of vector math, not hard compared to all the other stuff you need to do to have a moving "boat" in the first place.

PiGraham

Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:00 pm

You might get aswers to specific issues for underwater ROVs at https://www.openrov.com/
Last edited by PiGraham on Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

B.Goode

Wed Apr 25, 2018 1:49 pm

I want it to have a fish finder to read the world around it and cameras, lights, pir sensors, and a gps. Is it possible to make it track it’s position when it surfaces and then go to a destination and back?
Once you have got your current location from the GPS, how will you plot a route to the destination? Will you need to add a compass to your list of equipment, so you know which way to travel?
Could anyone help me with a code that could work, I’m very new to raspberry’s and I’m more used to arduino which still baffles me somewhat!