JamesTheAwesomeDude

7-zip build dependencies/instructions?

Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:04 am

Okay, I love 7-zip, and wanted it on my Pi, so I went to try to find some Linux ARM binaries, but... nothing.

I'd like to know the proper method to compile 7-zip on the raspberry pi, and, (if necessary,) the steps to integrate it into Xarchiver ('cause 7-zip for Linux is cmd-only, and I like a GUI every once in a while..)

I've already got the basic concept of software compiling down, and I've actually managed to compile the Hiawatha webserver into an armhf debian package, so basically, I just need to know what I need to install to build this, and what command I need to run on the extracted sources.

(P.S., I've reinstalled raspbian since I compiled Hiawatha, so you'll need to list *all* the build dependencies, even ones that seem obvious... I'm a little new to building things from source, and I ALWAYS have terrible luck at compiling stuff, unless step-by-step instructions are given...)
Hiawatha webserver 9.1 Debian armhf package! Run a small website on your Pi!
http://bit.ly/HiawathaPi

spec1alk

Re: 7-zip build dependencies/instructions?

Tue May 14, 2013 12:53 am

I was able to do this with the following steps (more or less):

1. Download the source tar from here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/p7zip/f ... t/download
2. tar jxvf p7zip_9.20.1_src_all.tar.bz2
3. cd p7zip_9.20.1/
4. make
5. sudo ./install.sh
6. 7za

Note that the "make" command, which compiles the 7za binary took a while. I didn't time it, but it seemed like ~15 minutes.

DirkS

Tue May 14, 2013 1:39 am

So you're running Raspbian?
p7zip bnary package *is* available in the repo and according to the package info xarchiver should support it.

gr.
Dirk

stu232

Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:08 pm

OMG Dirk, I wish I had read your reply before following the above reply, it would have given me back 20 minutes of my life!

timbald

Mon Oct 27, 2014 1:37 pm