User avatar
TheRobster
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:35 pm
Location: Vancouver Canada

Dosbox. What have you got running.

Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:03 pm

So far I have got running:
Starflight 2
Space Quest 3

Sound is a bit scratchy, but quite useable.
I would have done more, but every time I get something working I end up playing.
I am going to put a Raspberry PI powered HUD in my 24 year old Jeep.

User avatar
Super-Nathan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:56 am
Location: South Korea
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:02 am

Tie Fighter

Mechwarrior is downloading, will be tried later today
echo "Something Useful" > /dev/null

User avatar
TheRobster
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:35 pm
Location: Vancouver Canada

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:21 pm

I had forgotten about Mechwarrior.
I gotta try that out.
I am going to put a Raspberry PI powered HUD in my 24 year old Jeep.

grim2020
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 11:03 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Mon Jul 09, 2012 5:31 pm

Super-Nathan wrote:Tie Fighter

Mechwarrior is downloading, will be tried later today
Did you get this to load?

Chuckaluphagus
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:05 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:15 pm

I have a ton of old DOS games that I've purchased through GOG.com over the past few years. I hadn't even thought about running them on the Pi before. I'll give this a shot when I have a spare moment.

Are there any command-line frontends for Dosbox? I quite like using them in a GUI, but I'm spending a lot more time at the command line on the Pi. I'm envisioning something with an interface like aptitude, but just for use with Dosbox and a collection of games.

If this doesn't already exist, I'm going to have to learn how to program, aren't I?

User avatar
MrBunsy
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:48 pm
Location: Southampton, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:23 pm

I've had Worms and Lemmings working happily in DOSBox before, can't remember if I tried them when I put it on the Pi. Will have to try them again!

chromebookbob
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:10 am
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:34 pm

I got civilisation 1, elite, simcity & worms working.
Visit my website with the original instructions on it for both vanilla and Tekkit Lite Servers: www.picraftbukkit.webs.com

User avatar
rurwin
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 4205
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 3:16 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:05 pm

Chuckaluphagus wrote:Are there any command-line frontends for Dosbox? I quite like using them in a GUI, but I'm spending a lot more time at the command line on the Pi.
DosBox produces the screen image using SDL, which I think is only available under X. (Wikipedia teases that there is a framebuffer implementation, but the official SDL site doesn't appear to mention it.)

User avatar
Mortimer
Posts: 801
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:57 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Tue Jul 10, 2012 6:24 pm

I've tried DosBOX and it runs fine from the command line. It runs straight away at full screen.

Chuckaluphagus
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:05 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:24 pm

Mortimer wrote:I've tried DosBOX and it runs fine from the command line. It runs straight away at full screen.
Yeah, I know you don't need to have to be in X in order to use Dosbox.

Still need to find time to start testing games.

User avatar
AndrewS
Posts: 3625
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Thu Jul 12, 2012 10:36 am

Chuckaluphagus wrote:Are there any command-line frontends for Dosbox? I quite like using them in a GUI, but I'm spending a lot more time at the command line on the Pi. I'm envisioning something with an interface like aptitude, but just for use with Dosbox and a collection of games.

If this doesn't already exist, I'm going to have to learn how to program, aren't I?
You may find http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... =32&t=5191 a good starting point :)

User avatar
Super-Nathan
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:56 am
Location: South Korea
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:13 am

grim2020 wrote:
Super-Nathan wrote:Tie Fighter

Mechwarrior is downloading, will be tried later today
Did you get this to load?

not yet, no time
echo "Something Useful" > /dev/null

moztech
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:56 pm

X-Wing

chris.bodley
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:09 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:13 pm

I got a copy of doom to run and by run i mean lock up in the spash screen:-). any ideas on how to optimize it for this?

User avatar
TheRobster
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:35 pm
Location: Vancouver Canada

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:45 pm

I did get mechwarior to run.
I am going to put a Raspberry PI powered HUD in my 24 year old Jeep.

geezbeez
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 9:19 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Fri Jul 20, 2012 9:39 pm

Speedball II (Brutal delux) - still somehow good

obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Sat Jul 21, 2012 8:53 pm

In a less fun register, Word for Dos is free (gratis, not open), and is supposed to run well in spite of a few install error messages. Binary is here: http://download.microsoft.com/download/ ... 55_ben.exe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Wd8K2n5ayk

MrHarcombe
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:31 pm
Location: Market Harborough

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:39 pm

geezbeez wrote:Speedball II (Brutal delux) - still somehow good
Oh my - I loved that game! Shame I eBay'd my 3.5" copy...

andyroyal
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Tue Aug 07, 2012 10:26 am

MrHarcombe wrote:
geezbeez wrote:Speedball II (Brutal delux) - still somehow good
Oh my - I loved that game! Shame I eBay'd my 3.5" copy...
I loved it too, and I think my 3.5" copy is somewhere in storage at my mum's place. If only I still had a 3.5" drive in my PC...

I got Sensible World of Soccer 95/96 "working", but it's unplayably slow. I'll have to see if I can tweak the settings a little, but i doubt that'll be enough. The DOSBox source is available, I wonder if I could do anything to improve its performance on the Raspberry Pi?

User avatar
Redostrike
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 12:54 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:14 pm

Anyone tried System shock yet? i thought system shock 2 was windows based not dos?


Old favorites would be:

Doom
X-COM: UFO Enemy Unknown
Jetpack
Epic Pinball
Commander Keen (all)
Cyberdogs
Skyroads
Death Rally
Ignition
Duke Nukem 1,2 (3D wasent bad but i liked 1 and 2 more)

Prolly forgot a few more great titles.
Only heroes live forever!

Dalekmun2010
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:18 am
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:56 am

Redostrike wrote:Anyone tried System shock yet? i thought system shock 2 was windows based not dos?
I'll try System Shock as soon as I find my old disk, and yes, 2 was windows based.
Because I'm a potato!

andyroyal
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Berkshire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:10 am

Speedball 2 : Brutal Deluxe - Works quite well. You need to emulate sound, the game won't start without it. Somewhat counter-intuitively reducing the "cycles" down from the default speeds the game up, I found a value of about 700 worked best. It sounds awful, but it does on my monster desktop PC too - I think that's just the DOS version for you. Anyone know a good Linux Amiga emulator?

XCOM Enemy Unknown - I got it to work very slowly once, but subsequently changed some settings and can't get it to work again.

In general stuff running in user mode is fine, but protected mode is a bit too much for the Raspberry Pi. The DOSBox wiki says:
Protected mode games are very resource-demanding. Although they will likely run on a 1 GHz machine, it is unlikely they will run quickly or smoothly.
The Raspberry Pi is roughly equivalent to a 300MHz Pentium 2, so it's going to have trouble with protected mode.

User avatar
7F20
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:45 am
Location: New York

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:38 am

Warlords (the original game)

Tried wolfenstein 3D, it froze on the blue splash screen. I also tried with a mild overclock (900 on the CPU) and that didn't work either.
(Tried from both the console and from X.)

User avatar
alexeames
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2807
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:57 am
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Mon Aug 27, 2012 9:22 pm

Anyone tried Warcraft 2?
Alex Eames RasPi.TV, RasP.iO

JRT
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:44 pm

Re: Dosbox. What have you got running.

Mon Sep 10, 2012 2:54 pm

I got Ufo Enemy Unknown (XCOM) working. Predictably, it's pretty slow. However I feel if someone with more knowledge than me took on the job of optimising DOSBOX for the Pi, it could have some significant speed gains.

Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Burngate, Heater, MarkR, OutoftheBOTS, roshnee_kishore and 61 guests