Inventor_Tommy

4 Phase Stepper Motor and CNC Application

Sun Jun 01, 2014 8:32 am

Dear All

I am not a newbie by any means to Python, the RPi or real world applications. However I have hit a road block and wondering if there is any way around my problem that follows without purchasing new hardware?

I am trying to build a CNC machine from my Raspberry Pi. I did some research, purchased some 4 phase stepper motors (28BYJ-48) with a ULN-2003 driver board. I can move these motors fine with a python script using [1,0,0,1] [1,0,1,0] etc except when I try to apply this to the real world I hit a road block. So in a nut shell I know I can move the motors smoothly with a 0.004 second delay however all applications so far with examples on the net with python all show a bipolar motor setup. I even tried compiling my own kernel with LINUXCNC drivers etc, the application works but it require 2 pins only for drive/step. I clearly need 4 GPIO pins per phase.

Can anyone help with a solution around this or should I just bite the bullet and buy some 2 phase motors?

Thanks in advance and I look forward to your replies :-)

Tom

MrGreg

Re: 4 Phase Stepper Motor and CNC Application

Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:33 pm

Bite the bullet and go for bipolar.
They are deal easier to use and if you are building something cnc, likely you will need all the IO you can muster for other functions.

Inventor_Tommy

Mon Jun 02, 2014 11:58 pm

No problems. Thank you for your quick answer. I will get some bipolar stepper motors and see how I go :-)

Inventor_Tommy

Mon Jul 14, 2014 12:43 am

OK

So I got the following motors that are "made for CNC applications". However they still have 4 wires. Anyone know of a driver I can use with the raspberry Pi to interface with these stepper motors?

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/231162408535 ... 1439.l2649

Tom

FLYFISH TECHNOLOGIES

Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:47 am

Hi,
Inventor_Tommy wrote:However they still have 4 wires.
... because they are bipolar stepper motors.