Page 43 of 46

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 2:24 pm
by TheEgo
Thank you so much GTR2Fan I have just installed a test install using Raspian Jesse, so this will come in handy for that. I have loads of SD cards, so have a few different set ups that I can play around with (without risk to my main systems) I'll have a play later.

Just created a PiHole so I'm interested to see if it does speed up my network (or at least the devices using it)

Thank you :D

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 2:30 pm
by milhouse
TheEgo wrote:Any idea why my ssh access may be restricted? (it won't let me connect, as per previous post) Could it be the SSD and permissions? It's the only thing I can think of. I've checked all other Pi's on the exact same build (from the same backup) and they access it via putty just fine as they always have. Only difference is the SSD I installed on the one that won't access SSH. Cheers again.
Quite probably - the .ssh folder and files require specific, restrictive permissions for security reasons. No idea what file system you've used on your SSD but some filesystems don't support the required permissions.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 2:51 pm
by GTR2Fan
TheEgo wrote:Thank you so much GTR2Fan I have just installed a test install using Raspian Jesse, so this will come in handy for that. I have loads of SD cards, so have a few different set ups that I can play around with (without risk to my main systems) I'll have a play later.
Good idea. I meant to suggest using an entirely separate install for testing in the unlikely event that you ended up with a scrambled SD card but forgot. D'oh! :D

I believe it was this guide I followed to install Quake 3 Arena...

https://raspberrypi4dummies.wordpress.c ... pberry-pi/

Note the 1 hour compilation time stated. This must have been on an old single-core Pi (probably also at stock clock speeds) as my Pi2B with the overclock in my sig manages it in exactly 6 minutes and 32 seconds.

Have fun! :)

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 2:56 pm
by TheEgo
milhouse wrote:
TheEgo wrote:Any idea why my ssh access may be restricted? (it won't let me connect, as per previous post) Could it be the SSD and permissions? It's the only thing I can think of. I've checked all other Pi's on the exact same build (from the same backup) and they access it via putty just fine as they always have. Only difference is the SSD I installed on the one that won't access SSH. Cheers again.
Quite probably - the .ssh folder and files require specific, restrictive permissions for security reasons. No idea what file system you've used on your SSD but some filesystems don't support the required permissions.
I set it up the same as my HDD. A partition for STORAGE set as EXT4 (the SD card is SYSTEM so is just used to boot) and the other partition is just for any MEDIA. No different to my other set ups. Could I go into the.ssh folder and change permissions?

I'm thinking of plugging the ssd into my pc and checking the permissions on the actual device to see if its a problem there. I got it the other day, formatted it and created the partitions, I've done it dozens of times with USB and HDD. I'm stumped. Thanks for your patience. Apart from that, it runs very fast with the SSD and the overclocking settings, like really fast.

I tried your latest build last night, but I was up until 2am trying to get a skin to work with it. I looked at the one you mentioned on Github and put the folder directly in the addon folder, but it just wasn't giving me any options (not even settings, with the skin installed and still wouldn't play HEVEC on confluence hahaha! I think I'm going to stick to regular files for now, plenty of them with a Real Debrid account. I'm going to try Kodi on Rasbian too, first ever go. Need to work out how to get it on there first. I take it you only develop for openelec?

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 2:57 pm
by TheEgo
GTR2Fan wrote:
TheEgo wrote:Thank you so much GTR2Fan I have just installed a test install using Raspian Jesse, so this will come in handy for that. I have loads of SD cards, so have a few different set ups that I can play around with (without risk to my main systems) I'll have a play later.
Good idea. I meant to suggest using an entirely separate install for testing in the unlikely event that you ended up with a scrambled SD card but forgot. D'oh! :D

I believe it was this guide I followed to install Quake 3 Arena...

https://raspberrypi4dummies.wordpress.c ... pberry-pi/

Note the 1 hour compilation time stated. This must have been on an old single-core Pi (probably also at stock clock speeds) as my Pi2B with the overclock in my sig manages it in exactly 6 minutes and 32 seconds.

Have fun! :)
Again thank you :) I'll give it a go.

Where did you start with your install of Kodi? what build/version are you using? (sorry to all for the OT nature of this bit)

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:00 pm
by GTR2Fan
TheEgo wrote:Where did you start with your install of Kodi? what build/version are you using? (sorry to all for the OT nature of this bit)
I just installed gkreidl's KODI 15.2 on top of Raspbian Jessie. It's available on this forum if you do a search for it. It's silky smooth and completely stable for my needs which are just local media playback. I've no idea how well it handles add-ons or reskinning as I've not tried either.

I took this route to have a fully functional desktop Mini-PC and media centre without having to reboot or change SD cards to go from one to the other. It's working out very well for me so far.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:15 pm
by TheEgo
GTR2Fan wrote:
TheEgo wrote:Where did you start with your install of Kodi? what build/version are you using? (sorry to all for the OT nature of this bit)
I just installed gkreidl's KODI 15.2 on top of Raspbian Jessie. It's available on this forum if you do a search for it. It's silky smooth and completely stable for my needs which are just local media playback. I've no idea how well it handles add-ons or reskinning as I've not tried either.

I took this route to have a fully functional desktop Mini-PC and media centre without having to reboot or change SD cards to go from one to the other. It's working out very well for me so far.
Cheers, I'll start there.

Now to try and fix my bloomin ssh connection (or lack of ha) problem. I'm banging my head against a wall. interesting that others have the same problem though (without a fix) weird...

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 3:21 pm
by milhouse

Code: Select all

chmod 700 .ssh
chmod 644 .ssh/*
chmod 600 .ssh/id_dsa .ssh/id_rsa .ssh/id_ecdsa
The last line sets the permission on your private key files - you may not have any of these files. The most likely problem is the permission on the .ssh folder itself - too "open" (accessible to other users/groups) and ssh access will not work.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:26 pm
by TheEgo
milhouse wrote:

Code: Select all

chmod 700 .ssh
chmod 644 .ssh/*
chmod 600 .ssh/id_dsa .ssh/id_rsa .ssh/id_ecdsa
The last line sets the permission on your private key files - you may not have any of these files. The most likely problem is the permission on the .ssh folder itself - too "open" (accessible to other users/groups) and ssh access will not work.
I've looked at the security of the folder in contrast to the .ssh folder on a system that works and both have nothing in the folder (which is normal right?) the difference is in the permissions. The faulty one has 3 parties with full control (two are a list of numbers and letter and the third 'everyone') whereas the working one has the same, but only one has full control (the long one and owner of the folder) and the other two read and execute. This is the obvious difference.

I've tried to change the permissions so they are the same, but when I click apply, it goes back to full control. I think this may be the cause. I'm getting closer. I'm tempted to copy the 'good' folder and replace, although I'm sure the owner relates to the system, but if I save the original, I have nothing to lose in trying.

Wish me luck ha!

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:34 pm
by TheEgo
What would happen if I deleted the folder entirely? Would it generate again after a reboot? I'll give it a go as I've kept a copy.

Yep, regenerated and still can't access. Weird that the permissions are different though and it won't let me change it. Arrrghhhh!!

I don't use it very often, but you know when something just doesn't work and it really should. It can bug you....

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:44 pm
by milhouse
TheEgo wrote: I've looked at the security of the folder in contrast to the .ssh folder on a system that works and both have nothing in the folder (which is normal right?) the difference is in the permissions. The faulty one has 3 parties with full control (two are a list of numbers and letter and the third 'everyone') whereas the working one has the same, but only one has full control (the long one and owner of the folder) and the other two read and execute. This is the obvious difference.

I've tried to change the permissions so they are the same, but when I click apply, it goes back to full control. I think this may be the cause. I'm getting closer. I'm tempted to copy the 'good' folder and replace, although I'm sure the owner relates to the system, but if I save the original, I have nothing to lose in trying.

Wish me luck ha!
Full control? Why does this sound like you're trying to change the Linux file permissions from within Windows... that ain't gonna work.

Log in with ssh or mount your SSD in another Linux system, find your .ssh folder and execute the commands I gave you.

Anyway this is all OT for an overclocking thread - I'd suggest you start a new thread if you continue to have ssh issues.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 6:40 pm
by TheEgo
milhouse wrote:
TheEgo wrote: I've looked at the security of the folder in contrast to the .ssh folder on a system that works and both have nothing in the folder (which is normal right?) the difference is in the permissions. The faulty one has 3 parties with full control (two are a list of numbers and letter and the third 'everyone') whereas the working one has the same, but only one has full control (the long one and owner of the folder) and the other two read and execute. This is the obvious difference.

I've tried to change the permissions so they are the same, but when I click apply, it goes back to full control. I think this may be the cause. I'm getting closer. I'm tempted to copy the 'good' folder and replace, although I'm sure the owner relates to the system, but if I save the original, I have nothing to lose in trying.

Wish me luck ha!
Full control? Why does this sound like you're trying to change the Linux file permissions from within Windows... that ain't gonna work.

Log in with ssh or mount your SSD in another Linux system, find your .ssh folder and execute the commands I gave you.

Anyway this is all OT for an overclocking thread - I'd suggest you start a new thread if you continue to have ssh issues.
Yes I was looking at it from a windows pc (it's all I have) I can't access the ssh to log in, hence all these posts haha!! Reminds me of that song "There's a hole in my bucket" :D

I have an old laptop, I'll put a linux system on that and do as you say. Thank you, you're right, it is firmly OT now. My apologies. I went on a tangent from my OC'ing chat. In other news, I'm now using your last Jarvis build 1204. Nice and stable and works with a skin and build I already had and nicely overclocked with settings posted (on topic hehe) Cheers for all your input, time and patience.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:57 am
by TomaszBG
TheEgo wrote: Yes I was looking at it from a windows pc (it's all I have) I can't access the ssh to log in, hence all these posts haha!! Reminds me of that song "There's a hole in my bucket" :D

I have an old laptop, I'll put a linux system on that and do as you say. Thank you, you're right, it is firmly OT now. My apologies. I went on a tangent from my OC'ing chat. In other news, I'm now using your last Jarvis build 1204. Nice and stable and works with a skin and build I already had and nicely overclocked with settings posted (on topic hehe) Cheers for all your input, time and patience.
Is your SSH enabled in the kodi admin?
System->OpenELEC->Services->SSH->Enable SSH

Anyway on Raspbian Jessie the the highest I was able to go (stable) was:
---
over_voltage=2
arm_freq=1000
core_freq=500
sdram_schmoo=0x02000020
over_voltage_sdram_p=6
over_voltage_sdram_i=4
over_voltage_sdram_c=4
sdram_freq=575
dtoverlay=sdhost,overclock_50=100
---
At arm_freq=1100 I was getting random freezes every 3-4 days. Even at over_voltage=6
At core_freq=600 it is stable, but there is no performance benefits. But the SD speed is slower than at 500.
At sdram_freq=600 I get bitflips (not enough voltage) or freezes (overheating) at (6-4-4)

How I test for stability:
I run 3 instances of:
memtester 250
And one instance of:
memtester 50

If it survives 2 hours without a freeze or bitflip (or other error) ... I assume it is stable.

Anyway having decent heatsinks is a must if you plan overclocking :)

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:47 pm
by TheEgo
TomaszBG wrote:
TheEgo wrote: Yes I was looking at it from a windows pc (it's all I have) I can't access the ssh to log in, hence all these posts haha!! Reminds me of that song "There's a hole in my bucket" :D

I have an old laptop, I'll put a linux system on that and do as you say. Thank you, you're right, it is firmly OT now. My apologies. I went on a tangent from my OC'ing chat. In other news, I'm now using your last Jarvis build 1204. Nice and stable and works with a skin and build I already had and nicely overclocked with settings posted (on topic hehe) Cheers for all your input, time and patience.
Is your SSH enabled in the kodi admin?
System->OpenELEC->Services->SSH->Enable SSH

Anyway on Raspbian Jessie the the highest I was able to go (stable) was:
---
over_voltage=2
arm_freq=1000
core_freq=500
sdram_schmoo=0x02000020
over_voltage_sdram_p=6
over_voltage_sdram_i=4
over_voltage_sdram_c=4
sdram_freq=575
dtoverlay=sdhost,overclock_50=100
---
At arm_freq=1100 I was getting random freezes every 3-4 days. Even at over_voltage=6
At core_freq=600 it is stable, but there is no performance benefits. But the SD speed is slower than at 500.
At sdram_freq=600 I get bitflips (not enough voltage) or freezes (overheating) at (6-4-4)

How I test for stability:
I run 3 instances of:
memtester 250
And one instance of:
memtester 50

If it survives 2 hours without a freeze or bitflip (or other error) ... I assume it is stable.

Anyway having decent heatsinks is a must if you plan overclocking :)
Yes it's enabled. I'm going to do a complete fresh install. That will get rid of the problem i'm sure. Thanks though :D

To keep it on topic, I've just ordered the Pi3 So let's talk overclocking that badboy??

Millhouse will you be getting the Pi3? will your builds support it? initial thoughts on Overclock settings? Do you think it will play HEVEC x265 out of the box?

Should be an interesting time finding out what this new Pi is indeed capable of.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 7:20 pm
by milhouse
TheEgo wrote: Millhouse will you be getting the Pi3?
I'm fortunate enough to already have one. :)
TheEgo wrote: will your builds support it?
Yes, they already do. Just use the RPi2 build on the RPi3.
TheEgo wrote: initial thoughts on Overclock settings?
I found that overclocking sdram on my RPi3 would only go as high as 500MHz (default 450Mhz).

Power may also become an issue - my power supply is absolutely fine with a stock RPi3 but overclocking the ARM core to 1300 (from 1200) and playing HEVC content would result in under-voltage warnings so some existing "good" power supplies may not be good enough with the RPi3 if you push the overclock too hard. For now I've just overclocked the core to 500, gpu to 400 and sdram to 500 as that keeps me within my power budget.

The recommendation for the RPi3 is now 2.5A PSU.
TheEgo wrote: Do you think it will play HEVEC x265 out of the box?
Yes, with the right software. Same applies as with the RPi2, you'll find the latest HEVC optimisations in my test builds.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 7:30 pm
by TheEgo
Thanks again Millhouse.

Lucky you already getting to mess with the Pi3. I guess smart innovators like yourself need to get them first. Good to know your builds will be fine. I figured as much when I saw the latest openelec 6.0.2 works for both.

When you say with the right software (Re HEVEC) do you mean the build, ie getting one of yours? or specific software addons?

I'll try out your OC settings (thank you) I also have a 2.5amp good quality power source, so hopefully will be ok. Do you have any other settings in your config file? do I need to add the following settings?

sdram_schmoo=0x02000020
over_voltage_sdram_p=4
over_voltage_sdram_i=2
over_voltage_sdram_c=2

disable_pvt=1
avoid_pwm_pll=1

Also, slighty OT. I've never purchased any codecs, the mpeg-2 and the other one (can't remember what it's called) I've always been able to play files, so not a matter of cost. Would I benefit from getting them? will they improve the quality of the playback as I gather they allow hardware decoding? cheers again. All very helpful.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 7:44 pm
by milhouse
TheEgo wrote: When you say with the right software (Re HEVEC) do you mean the build, ie getting one of yours?
Yes, a Kodi 17-based build.
TheEgo wrote: I'll try out your OC settings (thank you) I also have a 2.5amp good quality power source, so hopefully will be ok. Do you have any other settings in your config file?
My Pi3 settings:

Code: Select all

[pi3]
core_freq=500
gpu_freq=400
sdram_freq=500
force_turbo=1
TheEgo wrote: do I need to add the following settings?

sdram_schmoo=0x02000020
over_voltage_sdram_p=4
over_voltage_sdram_i=2
over_voltage_sdram_c=2

disable_pvt=1
avoid_pwm_pll=1
You don't *need* to add those, no.

If you choose to overclock your sdram then the schmoo and voltage settings may help.

disable_pvt will be enabled automatically when overclocking sdram. I'm fairly sure you don't need avoid_pwm_pll any more.
TheEgo wrote: Would I benefit from getting them? will they improve the quality of the playback as I gather they allow hardware decoding? cheers again. All very helpful.
It depends entirely whether you intend to watch mpeg2 or vc1 encoded media. The Pi2/Pi3 will be able to software decode SD quality mpeg2 video, but may still struggle with HD quality. For vc1 encodings (typically BluRays) you'll need the vc1 codec licence. It's really up to you to decide whether the £3-£4 cost is worth it.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:04 pm
by TheEgo
Thanks again. I learn something new everyday. I do pay it back elsewhere, helping others who know far less than even me :shock: :D I will use your settings and keep the sdram settings in then. Won't hurt I guess.

I've always avoided the codes as everything I've ever tried to play has done so.What I don't know is will having the codec, specifically the mpeg-2 see an increase in the decoding, beyond what I get now? I've gone to buy them a few times and been put off by the upto 72 hours to receive them message haha!!

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:12 pm
by GTR2Fan
@TheEgo: Don't be afraid to go a little higher with those RAM voltages if you need to. You may never make it to 600MHz, but I believe that millhouse needs 5/3/3 to get there with complete stability, whereas I have to go to 6/4/4 for complete stability at 600MHz. You won't fry anything by trying. :)

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:17 pm
by TheEgo
GTR2Fan wrote:@TheEgo: Don't be afraid to go a little higher with those RAM voltages if you need to. You may never make it to 600MHz, but I believe that millhouse needs 5/3/3 to get there with complete stability, whereas I have to go to 6/4/4 for complete stability at 600MHz. You won't fry anything by trying. :)
On my Pi2 I went to 600mhz and 6/4/4 and it wouldn't even boot. Once I have my Pi3 tomorrow or Wednesday (depending on Royal Mail) I'll mess around with the Pi2 it's replacing and try a few different combos. As long as I have one solid and stable system to actually watch stuff, I don't mind messing around.

In other news I can play HEVEC 720p lovely and smooth with SDRAM at 550 and on Millhouse 1204 build. Progress...

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 8:21 pm
by GTR2Fan
TheEgo wrote:On my Pi2 I went to 600mhz and 6/4/4 and it wouldn't even boot.
You may still need to do an rpi-update to get the relevant goodness to make schmoo work as I'm not sure whether it's been pushed to main yet. 600MHz is highly unlikely to work without it. Someone more knowledgeable than me can provide an answer to that.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 8:21 pm
by TheEgo
[/quote]
by milhouse » Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:49 pm
TheEgo wrote:
Hi mate, how do I run/install memtest on an openelec system? what OS are you using? If I type in Memtest as you described into putty via ssh it says it doesn't exist, (I'm guessing this is because it isn't installed? So how do I install?) Are you guys (Millhouse? using openlec? do you have a linux system on your pc? is that the difference?)

I'm so confused as to how to stress test my system and config by these means. Any further help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.


To install memtester in OpenELEC:

CODE: SELECT ALL
wget http://nmacleod.com/public/oebuild/memtester -O ~/memtester && chmod +x ~/memtester


To run the test, configure your gpu_mem to 64MB ("gpu_mem=64" in config.txt, so that more RAM can be tested), shut down kodi ("systemctl stop kodi" to release as much RAM as possible), then run "memtester 850 10". If it passes 10 times without fail, you should be good - running a 1080 HEVC movie will then be a good test of both RAM and CPU.
Last edited by milhouse on Sun Feb 28, 2016 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.[quote]

Millhouse, two questions. I ran the code to install memtester and then run memtester 850 10, but it said -sh memtester cant be found. Now I shit kodi down as you showed me, but I didn't set the gpu to 64 as it was already set higher, is that the problem do you think? (I'll obvs try, just thought I'd mention it as I was on to ask you something else.

I now have my pi3 and installed openelec 6.0.3 (fresh install) and then tried to run your 1204 final jarvis build, but it failed and never has done before. Could there be a firmware incompatibility in that build with the Pi3 now? Thought I'd ask as I don't know where else to get you and before I keep trying to instsall if it actually won't or isn't meant too? Is there any obvious reason why it shouldn't install? it unpacked the files, system, system md5 etc and then said rebooting and then a black screen, but you could tell it was on. Before the files started extracting I got a message that i didn't get time to read, but I saw the word "failed to" in a sentence...Any guidance would be great, loved that build.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2016 9:03 pm
by milhouse
TheEgo wrote: Millhouse, two questions. I ran the code to install memtester and then run memtester 850 10, but it said -sh memtester cant be found. Now I shit kodi down as you showed me, but I didn't set the gpu to 64 as it was already set higher, is that the problem do you think? (I'll obvs try, just thought I'd mention it as I was on to ask you something else.
Try:

Code: Select all

~/memtester 850 10
however if you're not setting gpu_mem to 64 - ie. you've set it to a higher value - then memtester may not be able acquire the 850MB of RAM it is being asked to test, in which case you'll need to modify the value of 850 to a lower value that memtester is able to use, although then your testing won't be so comprehensive.
TheEgo wrote: I now have my pi3 and installed openelec 6.0.3 (fresh install) and then tried to run your 1204 final jarvis build, but it failed and never has done before. Could there be a firmware incompatibility in that build with the Pi3 now? Thought I'd ask as I don't know where else to get you and before I keep trying to instsall if it actually won't or isn't meant too? Is there any obvious reason why it shouldn't install? it unpacked the files, system, system md5 etc and then said rebooting and then a black screen, but you could tell it was on. Before the files started extracting I got a message that i didn't get time to read, but I saw the word "failed to" in a sentence...Any guidance would be great, loved that build.
You can't downgrade from 6.0.3 to #1204 using a RPi3 - #1204 will boot to a rainbow screen. The #1204 build pre-dates the Pi3 and doesn't ship with a Pi3 dtb (/flash/bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb), so after installing 6.0.3 (which does ship with a Pi3 dtb, for kernel 4.1.18) then updating to #1204, when you boot #1204 (which uses the 4.3.0 kernel) the RPi3 will try and use the Pi3 dtb file left over from the 6.0.3 installation. End result: failure, as the Pi3 dtb from kernel 4.1.18 is not compatible with the 4.3.0 kernel.

You could try deleting /flash/bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb before updating with #1204 (or afterwards - put the SD card in your PC) - it's possible the RPi3 will then boot #1204, behaving as a RPi2 with slightly faster processor (no WiFi or BT).

The failed message could be a failed checksum (corrupt download) or failed size check (your primary partition is too small - resize to 512MB, although if you used the 6.0.3 disk image for your clean install it should already be 512MB).

If you continue to have problems, post details in the Kodi 16 forum thread - this is not the correct thread to discuss OpenELEC installation issues.

if you want to test with a current build - which work fine, btw, and include a spiffy new skin - then by all means test and post in the Kodi 17 forum thread, but again, not here.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 4:26 pm
by TheEgo
milhouse wrote:
TheEgo wrote: Millhouse, two questions. I ran the code to install memtester and then run memtester 850 10, but it said -sh memtester cant be found. Now I shit kodi down as you showed me, but I didn't set the gpu to 64 as it was already set higher, is that the problem do you think? (I'll obvs try, just thought I'd mention it as I was on to ask you something else.
Try:

Code: Select all

~/memtester 850 10
however if you're not setting gpu_mem to 64 - ie. you've set it to a higher value - then memtester may not be able acquire the 850MB of RAM it is being asked to test, in which case you'll need to modify the value of 850 to a lower value that memtester is able to use, although then your testing won't be so comprehensive.
TheEgo wrote: I now have my pi3 and installed openelec 6.0.3 (fresh install) and then tried to run your 1204 final jarvis build, but it failed and never has done before. Could there be a firmware incompatibility in that build with the Pi3 now? Thought I'd ask as I don't know where else to get you and before I keep trying to instsall if it actually won't or isn't meant too? Is there any obvious reason why it shouldn't install? it unpacked the files, system, system md5 etc and then said rebooting and then a black screen, but you could tell it was on. Before the files started extracting I got a message that i didn't get time to read, but I saw the word "failed to" in a sentence...Any guidance would be great, loved that build.
You can't downgrade from 6.0.3 to #1204 using a RPi3 - #1204 will boot to a rainbow screen. The #1204 build pre-dates the Pi3 and doesn't ship with a Pi3 dtb (/flash/bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb), so after installing 6.0.3 (which does ship with a Pi3 dtb, for kernel 4.1.18) then updating to #1204, when you boot #1204 (which uses the 4.3.0 kernel) the RPi3 will try and use the Pi3 dtb file left over from the 6.0.3 installation. End result: failure, as the Pi3 dtb from kernel 4.1.18 is not compatible with the 4.3.0 kernel.

You could try deleting /flash/bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb before updating with #1204 (or afterwards - put the SD card in your PC) - it's possible the RPi3 will then boot #1204, behaving as a RPi2 with slightly faster processor (no WiFi or BT).

The failed message could be a failed checksum (corrupt download) or failed size check (your primary partition is too small - resize to 512MB, although if you used the 6.0.3 disk image for your clean install it should already be 512MB).

If you continue to have problems, post details in the Kodi 16 forum thread - this is not the correct thread to discuss OpenELEC installation issues.

if you want to test with a current build - which work fine, btw, and include a spiffy new skin - then by all means test and post in the Kodi 17 forum thread, but again, not here.
Thanks for all your help Millhouse. I will indeed try the latest build in the dev addon as I love a spiffy skin ha!! I won't post about builds again. Is this thread ok to talk Overclocking of a Pi or should I start a new thread? Cheers again, much appreciated.

Re: Overclocking

Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:07 pm
by milhouse
TheEgo wrote:Is this thread ok to talk Overclocking of a Pi or should I start a new thread? Cheers again, much appreciated.
Of course - it is the "Overclocking" thread... it's just not the "OpenELEC problem" thread.