Wanderlei
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:37 pm

dom wrote: You can ssh in.
ssh [email protected]<ip address>
and the password is openelec
Cheers, putty works:)
root ~ # vcgencmd version
Oct 16 2012 22:26:46
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version 344164 (release)
root ~ # vcgencmd measure_clock emmc
frequency(47)=100000000

I did catch once where it was a earlier version from sept 16th. I think maybe from 'copying and replacing' with windows. After that I was careful to delete old start.elf and replace it with current.

I did have a bit more success with going back to a earlier revision of OpenELEC (r12015)

R-Pi 512mb
arm_freq=800
sdram_freq=450
core_freq=300
gpu_freq=300 Works

arm_freq=850
sdram_freq=450
core_freq=325
gpu_freq=325 Works

arm_freq=900
sdram_freq=500
core_freq=350
gpu_freq=350 Corrupts Files

I went back again to r12089 but it still continues to never boot up with anything other than the start.elf it comes packaged with and any overclock corrupts.

I think its a case of my new 512mb being a bit less overclockable and revisions of OpenELEC being temperamental about using start.elf, loader.dol, bootcode.dol that dont come packaged with that revision.

Although with older start.elf on 256mb board I never experience any file corruption from overclocking. It was just a matter of changing config.txt and rebooting to recover, now I only way I know to recover is to re-image.

caldimerda
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:41 am

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:00 pm

Is the clock frequency logged anywhere? I had a good rummage around and couldn't find anything.

Long term reliability is my goal, so I want to ensure my app doesn't cause the pi to consistently overclock. But I don't want to sit and watch the little icon. Plus, running up x-windows bumps up the cpu load. :?

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5370
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:03 pm

Code: Select all

cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq

milhouse
Posts: 641
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 3:01 pm

caldimerda wrote:Is the clock frequency logged anywhere? I had a good rummage around and couldn't find anything.

Long term reliability is my goal, so I want to ensure my app doesn't cause the pi to consistently overclock. But I don't want to sit and watch the little icon. Plus, running up x-windows bumps up the cpu load. :?
Try this script: http://www.nmacleod.com/public/bcmstat.sh

Call it with "-x" parameter for extended information (tx/rx activity, cpu load, free/used memory).

Wanderlei
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 3:09 pm

Boo, the overclock I thought was working died on me too.

New R-Pi has gone back in his box. (for time being anyway) Original 'Rock' Overclocked R-Pi is back to show him how its done!

caldimerda
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:41 am

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:29 pm

Thanks Milhouse - that script is a great start. Better yet, it tells me I can just use "vcgencmd -measure_clock arm"

portets
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:24 am

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:03 pm

dom wrote:Yes, without force_turbo (or current_limit_override) over_volt is limited to 6. You can specificy 7 or 8, but you will get 6.
Thought I read that. Currently when set to 8 and force_turbo off, "vcgencmd measure_volts core" reports 1.4v. Is it actually 1.35, or is it not snapping down correctly?
You are correct, there is a (software) limit of 1200 for ARM freq. You're the first who has claimed 1200MHz is stable. I've increased that limit to 1500, and that should be available in next build.
Cool, thanks :D . Any chance the 600MHz sdram limit could be raised too? :P
It seems like most people with the Samsung ram(256 and 512) can run at 600, or close to it without sdram overvolting.
[are you sure 1200MHz is stable? Quake runs okay?]
Seems like my first Quake test was lucky. over_volt=7 is actually stable to 1190MHz. over_volt=8 is 100% stable at 1200. Haven't played with core_freq or gpu_freq at over_volt>6. With over_volt=6 core, v3d, and h264 are all stable at 550.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5370
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:40 pm

portets wrote:Any chance the 600MHz sdram limit could be raised too? :P
I did remove the limit, but there seems to be another. I'll find out if it's possible.
portets wrote:Seems like my first Quake test was lucky. over_volt=7 is actually stable to 1190MHz. over_volt=8 is 100% stable at 1200. Haven't played with core_freq or gpu_freq at over_volt>6. With over_volt=6 core, v3d, and h264 are all stable at 550.
Latest firmware has upped the ARM frequency limit to 1500MHz.
I'm not convinced you are running v3d and h264 at 550. What does meaure_clock return?
They only overclock with force_turbo=1, and I'd be surprised if v3d worked above 400.

portets
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:24 am

Re: Overclocking

Thu Oct 18, 2012 11:49 pm

measure_clock has always seemed broken on my pi. I can only measure arm, core, and emmc. everything else returns 0.

My v3d was definitely overclocked. It ran at 600MHz but with terrible graphical corruption and eventually crashed. core_freq was at 400, so v3d_freq=600 should've been a correct option.

edit: looks like my arm_freq tops out at 1230

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5370
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Overclocking

Fri Oct 19, 2012 12:20 am

portets wrote:measure_clock has always seemed broken on my pi. I can only measure arm, core, and emmc. everything else returns 0.
They return 0 when powered down. The 3d block is actually powered down most of the time when running quake.
Keep reading it - you'll get non-zero eventually.

portets
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:24 am

Re: Overclocking

Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:19 am

Oh, okay. So my max clock settings are:
  • arm_freq=1230
    sdram_freq=600
    core_freq=550
    gpu_freq=550
    over_voltage=8
    current_limit_override=0x5A000020
    force_turbo=1
I think I hold a record! :D
And the max temp with these settings after Quake3 is only about 60C :o
Looks like I got a really good piece of silicon here.

I checked vcgencmd and the gpu clocks are definitely working. Quake3 is stable, h264 video is stable. core_freq=550 does corrupt my filesystem after a couple reboots when force_turbo=1 though. Will have to try using an external hdd to see if it fares better.
I do get occasional crashes in Quake3 when gpu_freq=550 and arm_freq=1230, but only when both are overclocked at the same time. They're fine separately, so I think it's either a power supply or internal vreg issue.

Thanks Dom(and team)! I love how on top of everything you are. Even the tiny issues. I was really questioning a year ago the support a $35 computer could get.

User avatar
hojnikb
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: @Home

Re: Overclocking

Fri Oct 19, 2012 8:36 am

portets wrote:Oh, okay. So my max clock settings are:
  • arm_freq=1230
    sdram_freq=600
    core_freq=550
    gpu_freq=550
    over_voltage=8
    current_limit_override=0x5A000020
    force_turbo=1
I think I hold a record! :D
And the max temp with these settings after Quake3 is only about 60C :o
Looks like I got a really good piece of silicon here.

I checked vcgencmd and the gpu clocks are definitely working. Quake3 is stable, h264 video is stable. core_freq=550 does corrupt my filesystem after a couple reboots when force_turbo=1 though. Will have to try using an external hdd to see if it fares better.
I do get occasional crashes in Quake3 when gpu_freq=550 and arm_freq=1230, but only when both are overclocked at the same time. They're fine separately, so I think it's either a power supply or internal vreg issue.

Thanks Dom(and team)! I love how on top of everything you are. Even the tiny issues. I was really questioning a year ago the support a $35 computer could get.
Wow thats one nice OC :D
What Powersupply are you using ?
I didnt even knew that rpi had 1.2ghz hard limit for OC until now :shock:

I have to give my PI another try with overclocking, becouse i have a strong feeling that my psu is holding me back. That thing should hit 1200mhz easy.. :D
+°´°+,¸¸,+°´°~ Everyone should have a taste of UK Raspberry Pie =D ~°´°+,¸¸,+°´°+
Rasberry Pi, SoC @ 1225Mhz :o, 256MB Ram @ 550Mhz, 16GB SD-Card, Raspbian

Wanderlei
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Overclocking

Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:03 pm

I am still getting file corruption with the latest start.elf on 512mb board.

Using latest build of OpenELEC that comes with the start,elf and has memory split in config.txt. After a reboot it stops at the splash, error count miunt such and such. The FAT32 partiton stays ok, but the linux partition gets corrupted or such.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5370
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Overclocking

Sun Oct 21, 2012 4:08 pm

Wanderlei wrote:Using latest build of OpenELEC that comes with the start,elf and has memory split in config.txt. After a reboot it stops at the splash, error count miunt such and such. The FAT32 partiton stays ok, but the linux partition gets corrupted or such.
Are you overclocking?
Do you see the same problem on raspbian build?

I don't really know what build openELEC is currently using. Can you ssh in and run:

Code: Select all

vcgencmd version
vcgencmd measure_clock emmc
vcgencmd measure_clock core
cat /proc/cmdline

Wanderlei
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Overclocking

Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:18 pm

Yes it only occurs only with overclocking, I try overclocking extremely mildly by 2 and first reboot it is corrupted. (the build of openelec used is actualy r192220)

gpu_mem=256
arm_freq=702
sdram_freq=402
gpu_freq=252
core_freq=252

Here is the results

Code: Select all

OpenELEC Version: devel-20121020211109-r12220
OpenELEC git: 2c88d37589b631f6203465090a79a542bfe36ddf
[email protected]'s password:
root ~ # vcgencmd version
Oct 19 2012 23:40:40
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version 345130 (release)
root ~ # vcgencmd measure_clock emmc
frequency(47)=100000000
root ~ # vcgencmd measure_clock core
frequency(1)=250000000
root ~ # cat /proc/cmdline
dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 root=/dev/ram0 rdinit=/init BOOT_IMAGE=/kernel.img dma.dmachans=0x7f35 bcm2708_fb.fbwidth=1824 bcm2708_fb.fbheight=984 bcm2708.boardrev=0xf bcm2708.serial=0xd2f6a8b0 smsc95xx.macaddr=B8:27:EB:F6:A8:B0 sdhci-bcm2708.emmc_clock_freq=100000000 vc_mem.mem_base=0x18000000 vc_mem.mem_size=0x20000000  boot=/dev/mmcblk0p1 disk=/dev/mmcblk0p2 ssh quiet
root ~ #

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5370
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Overclocking

Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:24 pm

Wanderlei wrote:Yes it only occurs only with overclocking, I try overclocking extremely mildly by 2 and first reboot it is corrupted. (the build of openelec used is actualy r192220)
gpu_mem=256
arm_freq=702
sdram_freq=402
gpu_freq=252
core_freq=252
Can you limit core_freq to 250. (gpu_freq has no effect). I think that is the setting that provokes corruption (for some boards).
You should be able to set arm_freq and sdram_freq much higher (and the arm_freq is the most important one).

Wanderlei
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 2:01 pm

Re: Overclocking

Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:57 pm

I think you are spot on, I tried;

gpu_mem=256
arm_freq=900
sdram_freq=450

It rebooted fine with it, I will keep playing around and see how it goes with stability.

Now I know which setting was causing the problem, I can continue to play with the others. I was thrown off, my 256mb board was doing core_freq=350, so I started decreasing all overclock setting.

Bombadil
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 12:16 pm

Re: Overclocking

Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:14 pm

Hi

I just started playing around with my raspberry pi and wanted to use the dynamic overclocking.
My /boot/config.txt file looks like this:

force_turbo=0
arm_fr=950
gpu_freq=350
sdram_freq=500

disable_overscan=0
overscan_left=18
overscan_right=7
overscan_top=0
overscan_bottom=0

sdtv_mode=2

But the raspberry pi does not seem to use the higher frequencies at all.
I run the same benchmark as the one in the official dynamic overclocking post and I get results similar to the not overclocked one...

I had to chmod 444 /boot/config.txt in order to make my changes stay
otherwise when changing the file with sudo nano /boot/config.txt it would save my changes,
so when I open it again it shows my changes, but after a reboot the original unchanged version would reapper and my changes were gone...

I now the chmod fix is not nice...
but it should work as the overscan settings work now too...

jeanp319
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:10 pm

Re: Overclocking

Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:20 pm

hello guys...

I don't know why, my 2012-09-18-wheezy-raspbian image
is uptodate
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install raspberrypi* raspi-config
has been done.

However using raspi-config, whatever i change in the overclock section
the result is the same 700Mhz min and max cpufreq.

The config.txt is fine (with my overclocking selection) but when i reboot,
the overclocking part is always removed.

Does anyone know why ?
After all the installations and configs I made, I don't want to start back with a fresh install...
All works fine, I'm just stuck with the 700MHz

anandr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 5:36 pm

Re: Overclocking

Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:49 am

@dom

With the same transcend class 10 8GB sd card and the two changes you mentioned, my Rev1 board 256MB setup in a Lapdock config has error -110 when initializing SD card.
It does boot to completion, however, the keyboard(from dock and touchpad) though detected initially, do not respond once booted. This behavior goes away on removing emmc and the cmdline change.
However, turbo mode >=700 is still very unstable (corruption and whatnot).
hdparam wasnt installed on my wheezy build and I had to install the package manually as apt get's config file is corrupted.
I am not able to do the governor bypass as it fails on checking if shift key is held down.
Is anyone else facing these issues for http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-Class-S ... ef=lh_ni_t ? This was listed as a verified peripheral in the elinux link but I'm not sure if I have a defective card or should I go ahead and make a change on the wiki.

anandr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 5:36 pm

Re: Overclocking

Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:27 am

anandr wrote:@dom

With the same transcend class 10 8GB sd card and the two changes you mentioned, my Rev1 board 256MB setup in a Lapdock config has error -110 when initializing SD card.
It does boot to completion, however, the keyboard(from dock and touchpad) though detected initially, do not respond once booted. This behavior goes away on removing emmc and the cmdline change.
However, turbo mode >=700 is still very unstable (corruption and whatnot).
hdparam wasnt installed on my wheezy build and I had to install the package manually as apt get's config file is corrupted.
I am not able to do the governor bypass as it fails on checking if shift key is held down.
Is anyone else facing these issues for http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-Class-S ... ef=lh_ni_t ? This was listed as a verified peripheral in the elinux link but I'm not sure if I have a defective card or should I go ahead and make a change on the wiki.
I was able to get the keyboard and touchpad working post boot by reducing core freq to 250.
arm_freq = 950 and gpu_freq(?)=450.
However this test
Test: dd if=/dev/zero of=./test.dat bs=1M count=500 - run 4 times, min/max speed noted.
yields pathetic 4-5MB/s times for a Class 10 card. I think I should return this piece.

User avatar
bleep42
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:43 pm
Location: Sussex

Re: Overclocking

Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:58 am

Bombadil wrote:Hi

I just started playing around with my raspberry pi and wanted to use the dynamic overclocking.
My /boot/config.txt file looks like this:

force_turbo=0
arm_fr=950
gpu_freq=350
sdram_freq=500

disable_overscan=0
overscan_left=18
overscan_right=7
overscan_top=0
overscan_bottom=0

sdtv_mode=2
..
Hi, it should be arm_freq=950 that should fix your frequency. :-)
Regards, Kevin

trn
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:30 am

Re: Overclocking

Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:36 am

Hi,

700Mhz, config.txt is empty
time echo "scale=2000;4*a(1)" | bc -l is report 24sec

after config.txt
arm_freq=900
gpu_freq=275
sdram_freq=500

and time echo "scale=2000;4*a(1)" | bc -l is report same 24sec

cat /proc/cpuinfo 700Mhz
where/what is wrong/missing?

thsBavR10
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 3:11 pm

Re: Overclocking

Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:44 am

did you a reboot after changing config.txt?

trn
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 11:30 am

Re: Overclocking

Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:13 am

yes
i try only arm_freq=800, and same result (and yes, after edit config.txt reboot)

Return to “Advanced users”