jheronimus
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:58 am

Forward mouse and keyboard input from laptop to RPi

Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:19 pm

Hi, all.

I want to use my RPi with a TV, and so I naturally have to think about some kind of a remote. I don't want to occupy USB port with a keyboard, so I was wondering - can I use my laptop to control RPi? Is there a trick/utility for that? My laptop is running Mac OS X, the RPi is running Raspbian.

saintdev
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:56 pm

Re: Forward mouse and keyboard input from laptop to RPi

Mon Dec 31, 2012 2:27 am

SELECT `signature` FROM `users` WHERE `username`='saintdev';
Empty set (0.00 sec)

Joakim
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:55 pm

Re: Forward mouse and keyboard input from laptop to RPi

Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:14 am

Take a look at http://synergy-foss.org/
I've used before to share keyboard and mouse betwen Linux and Windows but OSX is also supported.

GloW
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:38 pm

Re: Forward mouse and keyboard input from laptop to RPi

Sun Mar 24, 2013 1:23 pm

well, you got your answer, but i'm currently using logitech unifying mouse and keyboard.

only one little usb stick for both, and real ease of use when watching movie !

deefunkt
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: Forward mouse and keyboard input from laptop to RPi

Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:50 am

Why not just ssh or vnc?

milleronic
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:15 am

Re: Forward mouse and keyboard input from laptop to RPi

Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:22 am

synergy. Works like a charm sharing keyboard and mouse between machine, including the pi.

Install the client on the machine which you want to use the keyboard and mouse. http://synergy-foss.org/

sudo apt-get install synergy on the pi

run synergyc <ip.address.of.server> in a terminal. Bingo!

Return to “Advanced users”