wpballa1
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 12:49 am

What is the J2 header for on the Model 4B?

Tue Jun 25, 2019 12:57 am

Could it be a power/reset button??? That would be great.

User avatar
RiccardoMoretti
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 5:33 am

Re: What is the J2 header for on the Model 4B?

Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:32 am

I suspect it gives more than a reset,
All the Pi Devices have a reset button with exception of the Rev 1Model B as far as I know,
In all the Pi's I've added a reset switch I have connected the 2 pins together, however the Pi 3 , I found that I needed to connect the Run to Ground to perform the reset,

I see the latest J2 header on the Model 4b has 3 pins, Im not sure if one is a ground, but i suspect connecting the run to ground would perform a reset,

I would like to find better documentation myself on what the 3 pins are, and the "proper" way to perform a reset..

Hopefully someone here can give us a clear answer?

hippy
Posts: 5387
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: What is the J2 header for on the Model 4B?

Thu Jun 27, 2019 10:33 am

RiccardoMoretti wrote:
Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:32 am
I would like to find better documentation myself on what the 3 pins are
The J2 header is included in the reduced schematics.

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10330
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK

Re: What is the J2 header for on the Model 4B?

Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:43 am

How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

User avatar
bensimmo
Posts: 4075
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:02 pm
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: What is the J2 header for on the Model 4B?

Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:30 pm

I assume it's the same as the one on the 3B+

hippy
Posts: 5387
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: What is the J2 header for on the Model 4B?

Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:08 pm

bensimmo wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:30 pm
I assume it's the same as the one on the 3B+
No, the pinout and circuitry is different, and routed to a different variant of PMIC.

Return to “Advanced users”