Page 1 of 1

can i Replace Matlab & Simulink -with Octave - since the later one is Open Source

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:51 pm
by sayhello
dear friends

can i Replace Matlab & Simulink -with Octave - since the later one is Open Source

look forward to hear from you

Re: can i Replace Matlab & Simulink -with Octave - since the later one is Open Source

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:46 am
by Aydan
the octave package for armhf is in the debian stretch repos, so it should be in the raspbian repos as well.
"sudo apt install octave" should be enough.

Regards
Aydan

Re: can i Replace Matlab & Simulink -with Octave - since the later one is Open Source

Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:06 pm
by scotty101
sayhello wrote:
Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:51 pm
can i Replace Matlab & Simulink -with Octave - since the later one is Open Source
You can replace part of Matlab with Octave but Simulink-like functionality isn't part of Octave. There are similar open source projects like XCos but nothing is as good as the product that Mathworks produce.

You get what you pay for. Matlab/Simulink has a huge number of additional function/toolboxes/hardware support packages that just don't exist in any open source version.