JonnyAlpha
Raspberry Pi Certified Educator

Remote Access Made Easy (Not yet but it's a thought) (c)

Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:38 pm

Hi;

I had a thought today and just wanted to put it out there and share it to get some feedback - if I am rambling I apologise :-)

I am a primary school teacher with several years of experience with the Raspberry Pi (HAB flight, Pi Wars, small scale robotics etc).

I use RPis in my 2 x after school clubs but I have only every tried to use RPis in the classroom on a couple of occasions a few years ago and failed (not enough Pis and no other adult support with a class of 28 children).
I am not planning to use Pis again just yet but today I had a thought.

Unless a school has the luxury of a dedicated IT suite with Pis setup ready to go, in my experience one of the biggest hurdles in using Raspberry Pis in a classroom setting is the need for technical experience in setting them up headless. Yes there are loads of tutorials using Ethernet and even USB to setup remote access to use VNC etc but apart from a small number even the dedicated computing teacher would struggle without spending a lot of time learning how to do it and then setting them up ready to go. Even then once in the class the children still need to open PUTTY (if using Windows) know the IP address before logging in and getting going - all delaying a lesson which is probably only 40 minutes long if your lucky.

Solution Required
What is needed is the ability to simply connect the Pi to a Laptop via USB or Ethernet and open up an icon / app on the desktop and hey presto you are presented with the Pi's desktop.

If there is a way to already do this let me know - if not I'll be seeking a solution.

HDMI
A bit of Googling and I have found some info on HDMI to USB adaptor (very expensive though) but this proves it is possible to deliver the HDMI output from the Pi into the USB of a laptop.

Keyboard and Mouse Input