rapzak
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:07 am

How to get QGIS3.x?

Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:01 pm

Hi,

Is there any way to get QGIS 3.0 to run on RPI3?

Not the enitire desktop app but through PYQgis with a QT frame?

How to do it if possible?

/rapzak

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 5476
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:09 am

The instructions for building it from source are here: http://htmlpreview.github.io/?https://r ... STALL.html

rapzak
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:07 am

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:25 am

Hi,

Actually it was more easy than expected - i followed the guide completely. However i had to increase the swap file from 100mb
/Kasper

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 5476
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:09 am

Good to hear, not all build guides are uptodate or easy to follow.
The limited memory of the Pi is often an issue when building larger projects like this.

aezpi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:58 am

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Sun Apr 14, 2019 11:03 am

Is this still the best way to get QGIS 3.x ? My linux-fu is seriously lacking...

The guide states "Refer to the section Building Debian packages for building debian packages." Can you clarify which sections can be skipped (if any) if going this route? I don't want to do any dev work, I'm just looking for a desktop install (planning to execute commands via the GUI).

Any help, or alternatives would be really appreciated!

/aez

User avatar
scruss
Posts: 2224
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact: Website

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:14 pm

There aren't many alternatives to QGIS: it's become pretty much everything that is not-Arc. ISTR QGIS being painfully slow on a Raspberry Pi, but I hope it has improved.
‘Remember the Golden Rule of Selling: “Do not resort to violence.”’ — McGlashan.

aezpi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:58 am

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:38 pm

I found the Debian package repo [here][https://packages.debian.org/search?keywords=qgis]. Not sure what the difference between "stretch" and "stretch-backports" is (2.18.x vs 2.14.x would give access to arcgis online layer endpoints).

I guess I could try to follow the basic install instructions as per [qgis][https://qgis.org/en/site/forusers/alldownloads.html] (those got me the "stretch" install) but instead try targeting "sid"? Maybe it's stable enough...they all support arm64 it seems.

All I'm looking to do is get several Pis to run QTiles on some arcgis online layers. I got everything working on my desktop but I'd rather have the multi-day/week rendering job split amongst a few Pis.

aezpi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:58 am

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:41 am

Been following the build guide. It still can't find certain packages... specifically `libqscintilla2-qt5-dev`, `qt3d-assimpsceneimport-plugin`, `qt3d-defaultgeometryloader-plugin`, and `qt3d-scene2d-plugin`.

This happens when trying to run `dpkg-buildpackage -us -uc -b` from the Debian package section (I get some unmet dependencies). I've already added "sid" to my `sources.list` file and uncommented the "deb" line.

Any other ideas?

aezpi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:58 am

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:28 am

Alternative to building from source.

**Issue**: with the QGIS install instructions (assuming I followed them correctly) - it was unable to find the

Code: Select all

python3-qgis
package.

**Solution:** basically use a different mirror than what the install recommends.

Starting from a fresh Raspbian Stretch with Desktop install.

Run:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
Run:

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/apt/sources.list
- Uncomment the

Code: Select all

deb-src
line (not sure this matters).

- Add the following line: "

Code: Select all

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian sid main
" (alternative mirrors can be found [herel][https://packages.debian.org/sid/armhf/qgis/download]).

Run:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
Run:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install qgis python3-qgis qgis-plugin-grass
- This will install ~300 packages, and can take a while (~4min to download for me). After the download there is a changelog/notice that must be read (keep pressing return then q). Soon after starting the download there is a prompt...once you're past that you should be safe to step away while it installs.

Once done you can launch QGIS (3.4 Madeira LTR as of this writing) by simply typing `qgis` from the terminal.

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 14105
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:46 am

aezpi wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:28 am
- Add the following line: "

Code: Select all

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian sid main
" (alternative mirrors can be found [herel][https://packages.debian.org/sid/armhf/qgis/download]).
That's not a good idea. Debian Sid is the "Unstable" branch. That's the one where the latest fixes and versions are put. It frequently breaks things because they haven't been properly tested yet.
Signature is on holiday.

aezpi
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:58 am

Re: How to get QGIS3.x?

Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:53 pm

It's the only 3.x armhf build I found :/, more than happy to get one from a stable release if someone knows where to grab it. For what it's worth everything is running fine for now (famous last words).

Return to “Advanced users”