mentaluproar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 7:57 pm

camera module in 64 bit mode

Sun May 13, 2018 3:08 am

Has anyone managed to get the pi camera working while booted into 64 bit mode?

User avatar
Gavinmc42
Posts: 2072
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:31 am

Re: camera module in 64 bit mode

Fri May 25, 2018 8:12 am

I guess this is a no?
Or no one has checked yet?

Eric has linked some v4l2 stuff that I think is Pi camera aware?
https://github.com/anholt?tab=repositories

His V3D driver is being used in Gentoo64 and Fedora64 for Pi3's.
So this driver compiles in 64bit mode which probably mean the v4l2 will too?

I think there is something called Unicam?
Quick google found this
https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/9951525/

Even if raw data only was working it could be useful in Aarch64 and use the NEON stuff for image processing.
Start looking in the latest/next kernel source?
I'm dancing on Rainbows.
Raspberries are not Apples or Oranges

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5372
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: camera module in 64 bit mode

Fri May 25, 2018 9:52 am

Gavinmc42 wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 8:12 am
I guess this is a no?
Or no one has checked yet?

Eric has linked some v4l2 stuff that I think is Pi camera aware?
https://github.com/anholt?tab=repositories
Mainly from discussions with me, and only run as 32 bit.
I'm assuming you're referring to https://github.com/anholt/drm-v4l2-test, which came about from https://github.com/anholt/linux/issues/ ... -240482532
Gavinmc42 wrote:His V3D driver is being used in Gentoo64 and Fedora64 for Pi3's.
So this driver compiles in 64bit mode which probably mean the v4l2 will too?
Pass.
There is an issue with MMAL and IL in that they pass user pointers in a u32 struct to the VPU as a callback cookie. That obviously fails in a 64 bit world and needs some magic shim. The problem then becomes that you can't tell if the app has been compiled as 32 or 64 bit, and therefore which variant of the structure is being passed in.
IIRC The V4L2 camera driver uses internal cookie values and lookups and therefore should be OK. Codecs should be coming online soon via V4L2 and so should hopefully also work on 64 bit.
Gavinmc42 wrote:I think there is something called Unicam?
Quick google found this
https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/9951525/

Even if raw data only was working it could be useful in Aarch64 and use the NEON stuff for image processing.
Start looking in the latest/next kernel source?
Unicam is the CSI2 receiver peripheral. Nearly there in our kernel https://github.com/raspberrypi/linux/pull/2513 (I got hacked off with the upstreaming process but it should get ressurrected as time allows).

64 bit is not a priority at Pi Towers, therefore it's still really being driven by those in the community that care.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
Please don't send PMs asking for support - use the forum.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

mentaluproar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 7:57 pm

Re: camera module in 64 bit mode

Fri May 25, 2018 5:22 pm

I get that 64 bit isn’t a priority and was never a target for the pi foundation. It just annoys me there is a feature there that I haven’t been able to use.

User avatar
Gavinmc42
Posts: 2072
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 3:31 am

Re: camera module in 64 bit mode

Sun May 27, 2018 2:03 am

Unicam is the CSI2 receiver peripheral.
I was aware of the Toshiba chip, just forgotten what it did, HDMI to CSI.
https://auvidea.com/b101-hdmi-to-csi-2- ... 5-pin-fpc/

Good news with the V42L codecs and yes the user numbers for 64bit Pi's is low currently, it won't always be so ;)
The Firefox Dev browser in Gentoo64 is so much better than Chromium in Raspbian32.

New 3B+ drivers caused some pain, but Aarch64 from 4.14.41 is better and can now be used for 64bit testing.

Not sure if Sakaki's method of running 32 bit code in 64 bit OS will work with camera.
viewtopic.php?f=54&t=211260
Can one core run in 32bit mode and the other 3 cores in 64bit, no idea :oops:
I'm dancing on Rainbows.
Raspberries are not Apples or Oranges

mentaluproar
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2016 7:57 pm

Re: camera module in 64 bit mode

Sun May 27, 2018 5:58 pm

I dont think so. The cores share memory, so if one writes something 64bittish, another core would read it as 32bittish and it wouldn’t make sense.

Also, “bittish” is a language and 32/64 are dialects. The internet will make it so.

Return to “Advanced users”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Marlor and 11 guests