Page 1 of 1

Changing WiFi network

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:51 am
by Ollittm
Simply put, how to? Yes, I know you can change WPA supplicant file and yes, it will automagically pick something.

However, we have ourextranet and ourintranet wifi networks and sometimes you actually do want to switch between them. How to? You find about a million hits on editing WPA supplicant but surely there must be a command for "connect to this SSID now please"?

Re: Changing WiFi network

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:25 am
by SurferTim
If you are using the GUI desktop, select the wifi icon and select your new network. If using Stretch (haven't checked Jessie), select the wifi device if you have more than one (I do) and select the network you want to connect to. If you have the ssid and psk entered in the wpa_supplicant file already, you don't need to enter the Pre-Shared Key when prompted, just click the "OK" button.

Edit: You can have multiple network sections in the wpa_supplicant.conf file.

Re: Changing WiFi network

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:38 pm
by Ollittm
Whether or not you have several access points defined, you're asked for the network key on raspian using that icon.

Re: Changing WiFi network

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:44 pm
by SurferTim
Ollittm wrote: Whether or not you have several access points defined, you're asked for the network key on raspian using that icon.
Correct, but if you don't enter a key and select the "OK" button, it will connect using the psk for that network from wpa_supplicant.conf.

Re: Changing WiFi network

Posted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:46 pm
by Ollittm
SurferTim wrote:
Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:44 pm
Ollittm wrote: Whether or not you have several access points defined, you're asked for the network key on raspian using that icon.
Correct, but if you don't enter a key and select the "OK" button, it will connect using the psk for that network from wpa_supplicant.conf.
Ok, tthat gets the job done in GUI. Is there a command line way of doing this?