DmitryR
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:18 am

Edit wpa_supplicant.conf from windows computer

Thu May 05, 2016 4:21 pm

Is there a way to add a pair of lines to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf from a laptop with Windows OS?

The reason is I don't have any HDMI monitor or USB keyboard/mouse, but I want to setup Wi-Fi connection (I have Wi-Fi module and it works, I need to specify Wi-Fi ssid and password).

User avatar
B.Goode
Posts: 10725
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: Edit wpa_supplicant.conf from windows computer

Thu May 05, 2016 5:04 pm

This might help. It reaches the same conclusion in a different way.

viewtopic.php?f=66&t=139190&p=947862&hi ... nt#p947038

(Editting files in the root filesystem of your SD card from a Windows machine is not possible without the installation and use of third-party software that can read/write 'linux' partitions: Windows itself does not have this ability.)

DmitryR
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:18 am

Re: Edit wpa_supplicant.conf from windows computer

Thu May 05, 2016 5:10 pm

Thank you, so I need to create /boot/wpa-supplicant.conf file.
Could you give me default wpa-supplicant.conf file from Raspberry Pi debian distribution?

DirkS
Posts: 10449
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Edit wpa_supplicant.conf from windows computer

Fri May 06, 2016 12:54 am

Code: Select all

country=GB
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="yourAP"
        psk="yourpasskey"
}
This should work for WPA(2) and SSID not hidden.
Change country, ssid and psk to the actual values.

User avatar
IgorGanapolsky
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:32 pm

Re: Edit wpa_supplicant.conf from windows computer

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:07 pm

DirkS wrote:

Code: Select all

country=GB
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="yourAP"
        psk="yourpasskey"
}
This should work for WPA(2) and SSID not hidden.
Change country, ssid and psk to the actual values.
What if I am in USA, would this screw up with country=GB?

User avatar
davidcoton
Posts: 5503
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:37 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Edit wpa_supplicant.conf from windows computer

Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:24 pm

IgorGanapolsky wrote:What if I am in USA, would this screw up with country=GB?
Yes.
DirkS wrote:Change country, ssid and psk to the actual values.
Location: 345th cell on the right of the 210th row of L2 cache

Return to “Advanced users”