javierch
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:07 pm

4TB new external on PI2

Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:10 pm

Hi
i installed a new external 4TB with encoluse to my PI2(Raspbiam)
when i formatted the hard as ext4 i have only available 3.6 TB instead of 4 TB
i miss something?
can you help me?
by the way i need to make a partition table?
here some info of the disk


fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sdb: 4000.8 GB, 4000787030016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 486401 cylinders, total 7814037168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Disk /dev/sdb doesn't contain a valid partition table

df -h

/dev/sdb 3.6T 52G 3.4T 2% /mnt/share4TB

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 14417
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: 4TB new external on PI2

Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:24 pm

Try df -H instead of df -h

It's the difference between using multiples of 1024 and multiples of 1000

javierch
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:07 pm

Re: 4TB new external on PI2

Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:37 pm

i'm shocked :-(
this is the solution?
thanks
what about

Disk /dev/sdb doesn't contain a valid partition table
when i execute fdisk -l

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 14417
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: 4TB new external on PI2

Tue Feb 09, 2016 1:47 pm

javierch wrote:what about

Disk /dev/sdb doesn't contain a valid partition table
when i execute fdisk -l
It looks like you created a file system on the raw drive (/dev/sdb), instead of partitioning it and using that (/dev/sdb1). There's nothing to stop you doing that, and it will work just fine, but it is better to use a partition table, even if it only has one partition in it. You may lose a few KB of space at the start of the disk, that's all.

javierch
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:07 pm

Re: 4TB new external on PI2

Tue Feb 09, 2016 2:20 pm

i guess if i already have some data on it ill lose it performing that action
right?
if i want to do what you suggest,what command i should execute?

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 14417
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: 4TB new external on PI2

Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:38 pm

javierch wrote:i guess if i already have some data on it ill lose it performing that action
right?
if i want to do what you suggest,what command i should execute?
Yes, you would lose any data that is on it.

You could just leave it as it is, keep your data, and not worry about what fdisk says.

Or you could run sudo fdisk /dev/sdb and enter

Code: Select all

o
n
<Enter>
<Enter>
<Enter>
<Enter>
w
Then

Code: Select all

sudo mkfs -t ext4 /dev/sdb1
That will create a single partition on the drive, then format it as ext4. Then you are ready to use it.

gsgs
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 6:48 pm

Re: 4TB new external on PI2

Tue Feb 09, 2016 7:09 pm

would it make sense to sell 4TB HDs with a pi in it ?

for copying and such

ahh, and there should be lots of useful data and programs on it already ;-)

User avatar
GTR2Fan
Posts: 1601
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:20 pm
Location: South East UK

Re: 4TB new external on PI2

Tue Feb 09, 2016 7:22 pm

gsgs wrote:would it make sense to sell 4TB HDs with a pi in it ?

for copying and such

ahh, and there should be lots of useful data and programs on it already ;-)
Not unless you can find some way of attaching the HDD other than via USB. The transfer rate is fine for media centre usage and such, but it's diabolical compared to what a modern HDD is actually capable of. :lol:
Pi2B Mini-PC/Media Centre: ARM=1GHz (+3), Core=500MHz, v3d=500MHz, h264=333MHz, RAM=DDR2-1200 (+6/+4/+4+schmoo). Sandisk Ultra HC-I 32GB microSD card on '50=100' OCed slot (42MB/s read) running Raspbian/KODI16, Seagate 3.5" 1.5TB HDD mass storage.

stevech
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:53 pm

Re: 4TB new external on PI2

Wed Feb 10, 2016 8:00 am

I use the LAN/WiFi and SMB for RPi to access a share on my 2 x 3TB drive Synology NAS.

Return to “Advanced users”