evaporatingt89

Raspberry PI 2 Particulate Sensor Project

Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:19 am

Hi,

A quick background, I recently got a raspberry pi 2, and I am a complete beginner. I managed to put Ubuntu MATE 15.04 and so far impressed that a very small thing can do a lot. I would like to make further progressions, I would like to do a project using a raspberry pi 2, but I am really unsure where to start, and how to do it.

Aim: Connect a particulate sensor to this raspberry pi 2, so I can detect the particulate matter in the air pollution. To identify particulate matter (pm2.5) in the air, so I can make people aware where it’s not healthy area/toxic area.

My three main questions:

1) Where can I get a cheap “particulate sensor” for detecting particulate matter (pm2.5) in the air that works with a raspberry pi 2? (I just need a cheap one, it’s just for this project)

2) How do I connect a particulate sensor to a raspberry pi 2?

3) And does it connect through GPIO pins, how?

I hope someone can kindly help me.

Many Thanks,
C

BMS Doug

Re: Raspberry PI 2 Particulate Sensor Project

Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:49 am

cleanair wrote:Hi,

A quick background, I recently got a raspberry pi 2, and I am a complete beginner. I managed to put Ubuntu MATE 15.04 and so far impressed that a very small thing can do a lot. I would like to make further progressions, I would like to do a project using a raspberry pi 2, but I am really unsure where to start, and how to do it.

Aim: Connect a particulate sensor to this raspberry pi 2, so I can detect the particulate matter in the air pollution. To identify particulate matter (pm2.5) in the air, so I can make people aware where it’s not healthy area/toxic area.

My three main questions:

1) Where can I get a cheap “particulate sensor” for detecting particulate matter (pm2.5) in the air that works with a raspberry pi 2? (I just need a cheap one, it’s just for this project)

Many Thanks,
C

Some interesting reading here