5facts
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 11:18 am

no GUI when running pi through putty?

Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:41 pm

Hi,

ive recently set up an ssh connection to my pi and gotten it to work, i tried to see if the raspian gui would launch but i got a FATAL: Module g2d_23 not found error when entering startx.

Is there something I missed or does it just not work to begin with? Cheers!

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 27949
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:30 am

You cannot run the GUI over putty. You can turn on X forwarding to getting something a bit similar but that requires an X server running on the machine running putty.

If you want a remote desktop, try RDP based stuff.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed.
I've been saying "Mucho" to my Spanish friend a lot more lately. It means a lot to him.

Joe Schmoe
Posts: 4277
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:37 am

Two comments:
  • 1) As I've mentioned a few times now, there should be a better error message when you try to run startx (or similar) from anything other than tty1-6. The problem is that it (startx) only works from a "virtual console" (i.e., from the console of the machine), but it (the various scripts involved in launching X) doesn't detect the fact that it is being run from a non-VC, and instead gives some ridiculous and misleading error message (instead of just saying "Not running on a virtual console - exiting now").
    2) The message about "missing module gwhatever" is actually "normal". I.e., "bogus".
And some folks need to stop being fanboys and see the forest behind the trees.

(One of the best lines I've seen on this board lately)

Jeremy Davis
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:55 am

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:40 am

Or VNC... (assuming that there are VNC packages in Raspbian repos)

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10709
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 7:41 am

x is a strange beast... always was..

the x server is the machine where the display is the client is the machine where the processor is...

see other posts about running desktops remotly ...
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 25320
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:01 am

The information is out there....you just have to let it in.

My other Linux machine is a ChromeBox

beta-tester
Posts: 1412
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:39 pm

i use PuTTY for SSH and the free open source version (6.9.0.31) of Xming as X-Server to bring the X-GUI on the Windows 8.1 Desktop...

your have to start Xming first with

Code: Select all

Xming.exe :0 -clipboard -rootless
and you have to enable x11 forwarding in PuTTY with the option "Connection | SSH | X11 | Enable X11 Forwarding"

download Xming here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/xming/
(there is also a mutch newer Xming available, but that is not free and not open-source anymore.
the older free open source version 6.9.0.31 works well enough to me - has sometimes glitches)

EDIT: i forgot to tell, in putty start the programs you want it self, not the startx
Last edited by beta-tester on Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 40594
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 8:52 pm

I found it easier to use MobaXterm which uses existing PuTTY profiles and does all of the arcane incantations for X forwarding for you.
Any language using left-hand whitespace for syntax is ridiculous

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
Fake doctors - are all on my foes list.

Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

beta-tester
Posts: 1412
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:57 pm
Location: de_DE

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 9:04 pm

DougieLawson wrote:I found it easier to use MobaXterm which uses existing PuTTY profiles and does all of the arcane incantations for X forwarding for you.
looks very interesting, i will give it a try - the free personal version should be good enough for my need.

EDIT: yes, MobaXterm is way easyer to use than Xming and has much much more comfort... :D
i tried the free personal portable version 7.3 (big thumb up!)
{ I only give negative feedback }
RPi B (256MB), B (512MB), B+, ZeroW; 2B; 3B, 3B+; 4B (4GB)

User avatar
Shoka
Posts: 147
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 8:35 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Fri Oct 24, 2014 12:18 am

I've had good experiance with http://sourceforge.net/projects/vcxsrv/
Cheers Harry

jimjamz
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:37 am

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Sun Nov 09, 2014 4:47 pm

Is it true that using a Remote Desktop connection such as tightvncserver won't allow you to tunnel the traffic over SSH? Hence the reason for using X11 forwarding (xming, mobaxterm)?

On TightVNC's website, there is an experimental Java viewer that states it can work over an SSH connection, but I don't know how compatible that is when using with a RPi.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 40594
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: no GUI when running pi through putty?

Sun Nov 09, 2014 8:09 pm

jimjamz wrote:Is it true that using a Remote Desktop connection such as tightvncserver won't allow you to tunnel the traffic over SSH? Hence the reason for using X11 forwarding (xming, mobaxterm)?
Not true.

http://martybugs.net/smoothwall/puttyvnc.cgi
Any language using left-hand whitespace for syntax is ridiculous

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.
Fake doctors - are all on my foes list.

Any requirement to use a crystal ball or mind reading will result in me ignoring your question.

Return to “Troubleshooting”