AAK

not working internet connection

Thu May 31, 2012 10:53 am

Hello!
I'm fairly new to linux, but i think this question isnt about that.
When i'm in terminal (without desktopx) i can pin www.google.com and have no packet loss and fairly fast response. Than i start my desktop and ping again. It will work the same, but the next ping (after a minute or so) will start loosing packets and in the middle of pinging i got "ping: sendmsg: Network is unreachable" and will not ping anymore. As soon as i logout from desktop, and ping again in terminal i can ping without a problem and packets loss.
Also I cannot connect to internet when i open midor or chromium.
The only things i installed were updated, chromium and networkmanager (i also cannot open that one (i tried to run it from "run" but nothing happened)).
Thanks for your time and reply in advance.

bredman

Re: not working internet connection

Thu May 31, 2012 12:23 pm

I would suggest removing networkmanager.

AAK

Thu May 31, 2012 1:35 pm

It was the same without it.
Another funny thing. I have an externall powered USB hub. So in theory it shouldnt affect the power and voltage on Pi, but whenever i have it plugged in, ping jumps from 55ms to 2000ms and start jumping from 170 to 3000 ms.
Any idea whats happening? Oh and nothing is plugged in.
Its trust Pyramid 7 port usb 2.0 hub

bredman

Thu May 31, 2012 2:35 pm

Does this command show any repeating errors referring to USB?

dmesg

AAK

Thu May 31, 2012 2:43 pm

It posted "smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0 eth0: kevent 4 may have been dropped" about 100 times (the same line) and than "smsc95cc 1-1.1:1.0: eth0 Failed to read register index 0x00000114" and than "... failed to write register 0x00000008" and pasted those 10 times.
I dont have usb pluggin in, only my wireless mouse and keyboard.
Chromium works right now, but even google.com loading is 15 or more seconds.
After I type ping www.google.com it needs about 20 seconds than "unknown host www.google.com" appears.