Raspi1@AvanceIT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

HDMI not working from new?? (solved)

Mon May 28, 2012 1:40 pm

Hi,

Just got a new Raspi from Farnell however the HDMI doesn't seem to produce a signal regardless of what HDMI monitor I use.
(We have a number and all working on other PCs just fine!)

We're using the latest Debian image from raspberrypi.org ...

Anyone else seeing this problem?
Failed hardware from new or is there a config issue with the latest Debian on Raspi??

User avatar
jbeale
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:51 pm
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 1:52 pm

What happens when you connect power? Do you see a red LED light (power)? Do you see a green LED ("ok") flickering, indicating the SD card is being accessed? "no display" will occur if the SD card is incompatible, or if it was not correctly formatted with the boot code and filesystems. If there is no green light showing, it is a SD card problem, or low voltage. Can you try a different power supply? Or you can confirm the correct voltage (5V +/- 0.25 V) by measuring voltage between TP1 and TP2 test points on the board with a multimeter. See also:

http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... on_display
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... r_problems

Raspi1@AvanceIT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 1:59 pm

Hi,

I'm running just fine, I'm serving web pages, running MySQL, sshd & Exim4 without any problems whatsoever.

All the LEDs are on, the little green one flashes when I access the SD card.

I'm fully accessible via the local LAN, just can't get any signal out on the HDMI port, composite video works fine, but no HDMI :-(

Just reading this posting now to see if I can make the HDMI port work:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... =26&t=5851

Raspi1@AvanceIT
=====================================
Raspi1@AvanceIT
http://raspi1.avanceit.com

Raspi1@AvanceIT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 2:15 pm

All LEDs on, green one flickers when I'm accessing the SD Card.
Apache and other services all running just fine, voltage is 4.786v so no problem there either.

Does anyone actually have HDMI working under the latest Debian?
jbeale wrote:What happens when you connect power? Do you see a red LED light (power)? Do you see a green LED ("ok") flickering, indicating the SD card is being accessed? "no display" will occur if the SD card is incompatible, or if it was not correctly formatted with the boot code and filesystems. If there is no green light showing, it is a SD card problem, or low voltage. Can you try a different power supply? Or you can confirm the correct voltage (5V +/- 0.25 V) by measuring voltage between TP1 and TP2 test points on the board with a multimeter. See also:

http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... on_display
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... r_problems

User avatar
Grumpy Mike
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:49 pm
Location: Manchester (England England)
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 3:22 pm

Does anyone actually have HDMI working under the latest Debian?
Yes I do.
Things to try. Connect the TV up first and get it displaying the no signal message.
Disconnect anything from the USB sockets.
Then plug in your power source to the board with the power source switched on.

If there is no video in about 15 seconds, remove the power and try again.

Raspi1@AvanceIT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 4:13 pm

Hi Gumpy Mike!

Thanks for the reply.
Have tried your suggestion but to no avail, still no O/P on the HDMI port!

Searching on Google it seems to be a common fault on Raspi's with many sending them back to RS/Farnell.

A bit disappointing, but to be expected I guess.

Works perfectly fine otherwise, runs services a treat (http://raspi1.avanceit.com)


Grumpy Mike wrote:
Yes I do.
Things to try. Connect the TV up first and get it displaying the no signal message.
Disconnect anything from the USB sockets.
Then plug in your power source to the board with the power source switched on.

If there is no video in about 15 seconds, remove the power and try again.

User avatar
Grumpy Mike
Posts: 872
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:49 pm
Location: Manchester (England England)
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 4:29 pm

Have you tried connecting the composite video out to the TV so see if any video is being produced?

sharix
Posts: 200
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:29 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 4:40 pm

Why don't you read the thread Mike

Raspi1@AvanceIT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 4:48 pm

Yup, composite video works perfectly, but the picture quality is poor compared to HDMI.

Have now connected the Raspi1 to another USB source with a higher voltage, 5.124v just in case it was a low voltage problem, but no difference.
Grumpy Mike wrote:Have you tried connecting the composite video out to the TV so see if any video is being produced?
=====================================
Raspi1@AvanceIT
http://raspi1.avanceit.com

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 5:33 pm


Raspi1@AvanceIT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 7:57 pm

Hi Dom,

I put the following into the /boot/config.txt file:

config_hdmi_boost=4
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

Made no difference whatsoever after a cold start, Raspi1 booted just fine but "No Signal" on the HDMI monitor.
I'm coming to the conclusion that the HDMI section of the Raspi is DOA.
=====================================
Raspi1@AvanceIT
http://raspi1.avanceit.com

User avatar
Vindicator
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 11:10 pm
Location: Susanville Ca USA
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 8:06 pm

Sorry to hear about your HDMI but like your webpage and blog it is great work.
If you are more worried about ,spelling, punctuation or grammar you have probably already missed the point so please just move on.

Raspi1@AvanceIT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Mon May 28, 2012 8:11 pm

Hi Vindicator,

Thanks for comments!
I'll be adding a lot more as I go along, no HDMI isn't a show stopper, just means no fancy graphics, but there's a lot more that I can do that doesn't need graphics at all.

I've just mounted 1.3TB of disk space via the LAN so the sky is the limit!

Drop by the blog again soon.

Raspi1@AvanceIT
Vindicator wrote:Sorry to hear about your HDMI but like your webpage and blog it is great work.
=====================================
Raspi1@AvanceIT
http://raspi1.avanceit.com

User avatar
Melvb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 8:50 am
Location: Mapplewell, Barnsley

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:42 pm

Hi

Got my Pi yesterday, composite video worked ok to TV, but no HDMI to TV (1.2m cable). I found this post but it offered no solutions. Tried another HDMI cable (existing 10m cable from a PC to TV) and it worked, so I tried the 1.2m cable again and it didn't work. Here's MY solution, I swapped 1.2m end for end and that worked. I don't know the details of HMDI but does it matter which end is plugged in the source device, or is it just a (partially) dodgy cable? Can't try the 10m cable reversed because it runs around the room and I don't have a third cable. Not tried sound over HDMI yet.

Wonder if this might help anyone else.

forgrimm
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 5:59 pm

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:29 am

Had the same issue.
You can fix it by updating the raspberry firmware.
Look at my topic for more information:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... =28&t=6911
Update the firmware --> reboot --> it should work :-) (for me only a hdmi->hdmi cable is working, hdmi->dvi still has no signal)

Greetings Forgrimm

PS. Have fun with you PI !

pygmy_giant
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:49 am

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:53 pm

Hi

I'm also having problems - my Pi arrived in the post today and I'm using a new hdmi to DVI cable and a monitor which works fine.

The red power light shows, the green light flickers to show SD card access, but no display, even though I've taken great care to prepare the SD card properly and am using the recommended Debian image.

Is this likely to be a software / firmware issue?

If so can anyone point me to an up-to-date Debian image that will work for me out of the box without the need to 'update' anything?

I don't understand how I'm supposed to alter / update the config file / firmware without being able to see what's going on and without a spare linux computer / composite TV lying about.

My only other computer is a windows vista laptop.

Has anybody got DVI working?

I found this thread: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... DVI#p88726

I think I need to amended my conf.txt file with the line
hdmi_force_hotplug=1

Can I do that from windows?
Last edited by pygmy_giant on Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ostendo ignarus addo scientia.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:14 pm

pygmy_giant wrote: My only other computer is a windows vista laptop.
Do you have an sdcard reader with the windows laptop. Plug in the sdcard and the "/boot" partition will appear as the contents of sdcard. You can create a config.txt file from windows (e.g. with notepad).
Make sure you don't have extensions hidden and accidently create a config.txt.txt.

A new Debian image is expected very soon, so you could wait, or you could experiment yourself.
The most important file from firmware is start.elf. You could download the latest here:
https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware ... /start.elf
click on view raw, then save it, and put it on the sdcard from Windows. Then see if you get an image when you boot.

If not, then try looking here:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_Troubleshooting# ... put_at_all

pygmy_giant
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:49 am

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:15 pm

thanks Dom - I will try this:
http://elinux.org/R-Pi_ConfigurationFile
when I am in the right frame of mind - deep breaths - in with the love (hold) - out with the hate - in with the love (hold) - out with the hate ...
Ostendo ignarus addo scientia.

pygmy_giant
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:49 am

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:35 pm

Right - opening SD Card folder from windows and... no config file?!

New problem: which configurations to use.

I think this calls for an emoticon: :?
Ostendo ignarus addo scientia.

pygmy_giant
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:49 am

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:49 pm

Ok - so trying following randomly selected configurations just because others have:

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_drive=1
hdmi_mode=16
disable_overscan=1
config_hdmi_boost=4

save file.... transfer card to Pi ... (it feels so fragile in my hands) ... throwing the (non existant) switch ... and ...

... It works!!!!

time for another emoticon: :lol:
Ostendo ignarus addo scientia.

itimpi
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:55 pm

I think there is a lot to be said for all distributions including the config.txt file even if it contains nothing but some comments on its purpose; the format of entries; and where to get further information on what entries are possible.

Another possibility is to include as comments some standard entries that are often found to be needed and an explanation of what they do.

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5091
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:05 pm

@pygmy_giant
Congrats. Now you're in you could try updating firmware (using Hexxeh's rpi-update tool).
You could also try commenting out lines in config.txt to see if all are necessary.

pygmy_giant
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:49 am

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:48 pm

no I can't because I have just trashed the image by trying to resize the partitions using fdisk - :¬/

....back to the drawing board ....
Ostendo ignarus addo scientia.

Raspi1@AvanceIT
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 1:28 pm
Location: UK
Contact: Website

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:53 pm

Try GParted for partition resizing, must easier than fdisk :)

pygmy_giant wrote:no I can't because I have just trashed the image by trying to resize the partitions using fdisk - :¬/

....back to the drawing board ....
=====================================
Raspi1@AvanceIT
http://raspi1.avanceit.com

pygmy_giant
Posts: 1562
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:49 am

Re: HDMI not working from new??

Sat Jun 02, 2012 8:19 pm

.... oh no, its ok - it was just resize2fs taking an age on my 16gb class 4 card - was following gordon's tutorial:
https://projects.drogon.net/raspberry-p ... al-setup1/
all hunky-dory now - phew! I'm emoticonned out - think I'll go and have a lie down.
Ostendo ignarus addo scientia.

Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bulletmark, Tzarls, XueHai8 and 54 guests