Page 1 of 1

Starting up (solved)

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 8:33 pm
by AndyEdwards
Hi, my son was given a Raspberry Pi for Xmas, and it seems to be down to me to make it work, and I'm not particularly technical. I've got through the installation of the OS, but when I get to the 'raspi config' page, I'm stuck. The mouse and keyboard don't seem to be recognised on this page, so I can't do anything. Any ideas, anyone? Thank you

Re: Starting up

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:03 pm
by DougieLawson
You have to use the keyboard, it's not a GUI.
[TAB] then [UP]/[DOWN] arrows to select your option & [ENTER]

Re: Starting up

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 11:07 pm
by Richard-TX
After highlighting an option, the space bar will select or deselect it. This is helpful when more than one option is desired.

Re: Starting up

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 4:54 pm
by AndyEdwards
Tried the TAB thing, still no joy. The first option is highlighted at present, but there is no response to anything I've tried. As I said, it's like the keyboard and mouse aren't recognised, but they were before the installation of the OS.

Re: Starting up

Posted: Sat Dec 28, 2013 5:06 pm
by mahjongg
Does the capslock LED toggle when you press the capslock key?

If you can the keyboard is, in principle, working okay!

Re: Starting up

Posted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:27 pm
by AndyEdwards
The caps lock led does come on. Still no joy.

Re: Starting up

Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:10 pm
by mahjongg
sound almost silly, but as I had a case recently of a defective keyboard that didn't transmit the number keys that NOOBS needs to switch to PAL... Did you try that keyboard on a PC, to see if the arrow keys work?

Anyway, I would advice trying to use another keyboard.

Re: Starting up

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:43 pm
by AndyEdwards
Seems to me it was the keyboard. It works with another.
Thank you all. Have to admit, I'm finding it a challenge, as I know so little about computers, and I'm an adult! I don't know how kids manage. Then again, they probably find it easier than me.

Re: Starting up

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:51 pm
by Richard-TX
Did you install Raspian? I would try that.
Try a different keyboard.

I had an issue with a keyboard. The silly thing had some many lights on it that it taxed the power available via the Rpi's USB port. I got another keyboard. Seems that the simpler the keyboard the better.

If you don't have a spare keyboard then I would try a good powered USB hub. D-Link USB hubs is all I will use. On the plus side the hub can also power the Rpi. A usb-A to usb micro cable is all that is needed.