imiles1981

Car stereo - Raspbmc question

Tue Dec 24, 2013 8:42 am

HI guys,

I am completely new to all of this so I do apologise for any lack of knowledge that I may display!

My little project that I have tasked myself with, is to create a fully functional head unit using just a raspberry pi where I can connect the wiring loom from my car straight in to the back of the head unit, in essence, the Pi, all boards and switches will be contained within this one unit, including the 7" lilliput on the front.

Hardware wise, everything is looking possible and I am looking forward to buying all of the components and getting started, however I have a few questions regarding the software aspect of Raspbmc (XBMC). I am aiming to control everything from the monitor that will ultimately sit on the front which will be a touch screen lilliput, however is it possible to connect an iPhone running iOS 7.0.4 via USB, and play the music on that phone, if not, is there any alternative software that will interface with the phone.

The only other alternative I have is to control the system using the XBMC remote on the phone however I want to remove using the phone from the solution all together so if there is some way to play the music on the phone through the Pi without using AirPi then that would be great.

Any suggestions you guys can give would be great. Thanks for your help in advance.

Ian

obcd

Re: Car stereo - Raspbmc question

Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:16 pm

however I want to remove using the phone from the solution all together
It's rather confusing.
You want to play the music on your phone and remove the phone from the solution?
DLNA works with a server - controller - renderer setup. The 3 unit's can be on different hardware.
So basically, your Pi with touchscreen can be server and controller and your phone can function as renderer. (Playing the sound)

imiles1981

Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:22 pm