roadhog6095

Marine Hub - Web Cam Problem

Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:25 pm

Hello,

I'm new to raspberry Pi, but am trying to setup a computer to control a Marine Fish tank, and a part of that is to install a webcam to monitor the tank.

I've watched lots of tutorials on setting up a webcam with a raspberry Pi, and so far have managed to get it working from within my internal network. I have a static IP set on the Pi and Motion running on start-up. i can access the camera from my iphone when connected to my wifi and it works great.

The next step was to allow access from outside my network, so i opened up the required port and added the pi as a device on my routers settings.I followed a specific youtuve tutorial for this as i found one for my BT homehub router. As far as i can tell from the research i have done this should now work from outside the network, but it doesnt.

The port i am using is 8081, is there anything i am missing here? i have read about setting up a dns to be able to type in a web address to view the camera, but for the app i want to use this is not neccessary as i know the IP address.

Thanks in advance for any advice you might have.

obcd

Re: Marine Hub - Web Cam Problem

Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:59 pm

Are you connecting to the external ip adress?
Are you sure your internet provider allows you to have a server listening on port 8081?
Some internet providers block ranges of ports, as a user connection is optimised for downloading traffic and not uploading traffic.

You could also have another firewall setting that blocks that port.

DougieLawson

Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:36 pm

1. You need to know your public IP address and if it changes.
2. You need to fiddle with your router to port forward 8081 on your RPi to an external port.
3. You need to have strong security on your RPi if it is open to the public Internet.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.