itimpi
Posts: 1090
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:44 am
Location: Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:29 am

You hae to chane the config.txt file as described in the opening post and on the wiki.

You do not say what is currently happening for you and anything about your setup which makes it difficuot to give advice. For most people there is nothing to do and it 'just works' so in those cases where it does not you need to help with the dignostic process.

dfrimmel
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 9:31 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Thu Nov 01, 2012 3:46 pm

I download new weezy image, copy it to sd card, boot RPi with weezy and on config menu already have picture that was not in full screen, after I boot gui it was very a slow (on same sd card I was runing openelec with no problem) and still no full screen, then whatever I tried cpu was always on 100% usage, I open Midori 100% cpu until it finish opening, I enter google.com in address bar, again 100% cpu usage until page loads. I'm new in linux world, and have no clue what is going on and how to make it work.
4 months for 256MB RPi ...
maybe 8 months for 128MB RPi who knows...
Thanks RS.

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10532
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Thu Nov 01, 2012 3:51 pm

from the command line
run
sudo raspi-config
change overscan
change overclock [start low - press shift on keyboard during boot if it breaks]
possibly also
expand rootfs [this will take time next reboot]
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

devnull
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:46 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sat Nov 10, 2012 6:22 am

I have a non-standard display size which is 480 x 272, and of course this is not recognized as a standard display size and so it makes it's best guess, which is 640 x 480 and is not good enough.

So I have created a edid.dat file by using phoenix EDID Designer and have set the timing properties for the LCD, and saved the file as /boot/edid.dat.

in Config.dat I have set:

avoid_edid_fuzzy_match=1
hdmi_edid_file=1
config_hdmi_boost=4
framebuffer_width=480
framebuffer_height=272

however, it refuses to use the settings I have entered and makes it's best guess which is not even close to what I require.

I thought that by using the avoid_edid_fuzzy_match option, it would not try and match, but would use the settings provided.

I would really appreciate some help with this as I have spent a week building and debugging the display hardware !

I have attached the edid.dat file, and also a screen shot of the timings set in Phoenix hoping that they will help ??

here's the dump from ediparser:

Code: Select all

Parsing /boot/edid.dat...
HDMI:EDID version 1.3, 0 extensions, screen size 10x6 cm
HDMI:EDID features - videodef 0x81 !standby !suspend active off; colour encoding:RGB444|YCbCr444|YCbCr422; sRGB is default colourspace; preferred format is native; does not support GTF
HDMI:EDID found monitor ascii descriptor tag 0xfe
HDMI:EDID found monitor name descriptor tag 0xfc
HDMI:EDID monitor name is LQ043
HDMI:EDID found monitor range descriptor tag 0xfd
HDMI:EDID monitor range offsets: V min=0, V max=0, H min=0, H max=0
HDMI:EDID monitor range: vertical is 59-61 Hz, horizontal is 29-34 kHz, max pixel clock is 10 MHz
HDMI:EDID monitor range does not support GTF
HDMI:EDID failed to find a matching detail format for 480x272p hfp:2 hs:41 hbp:2 vfp:2 vs:10 vbp:2 pixel clock:9 MHz
HDMI:EDID calculated refresh rate is 60 Hz
HDMI:EDID guessing the format to be 480x272p @60 Hz
HDMI:EDID found unknown detail timing format: 480x272p hfp:2 hs:41 hbp:2 vfp:2 vs:10 vbp:2 pixel clock:9 MHz
HDMI:EDID established timing I/II bytes are 00 00 00
HDMI:EDID standard timings block x 8: 0x0101 0101 0101 0101 0101 0101 0101 0101 
HDMI:EDID adding mandatory support for DMT (4) 640x480p @ 60Hz
HDMI:EDID filtering formats with pixel clock > 162 MHz or h. blanking > 1023
HDMI:EDID no known preferred format has been set
HDMI:EDID filtering preferred group has been changed from Invalid to DMT
HDMI:EDID best score mode initialised to DMT (4) 640x480p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 25 MHz (score 18432)
HDMI:EDID best score mode is now DMT (4) 640x480p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 25 MHz (score 36864)
HDMI:EDID preferred mode is updated to DMT (4) 640x480p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 25200000 Hz
HDMI:EDID has only DVI support and no audio support
edid_parser exited with code 0
Attachments
edid.dat.zip
(684 Bytes) Downloaded 391 times
Screen Shot 2012-11-10 at 7.40.56 AM.png
Screen Shot 2012-11-10 at 7.40.56 AM.png (21.37 KiB) Viewed 7100 times
> /dev/null 2>&1

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:51 pm

@devnull
you won't get any resolutions out of the Pi that are not standard CEA or DMT modes (as listed here: http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt)
In theory GTF could be supported allowing arbitrary modes to be output, which our HDMI guy (rpi_newbie) may implement at some point, but it's not high on the list of priorities.

devnull
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:46 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sun Nov 11, 2012 4:08 am

@dom

Thanks for that, is there any other way that I can achieve this, i.e being able to define my own settings for resolution and all of the associated timings ??

Being able to have user-defined settings for the screen would definitely be a benefit when using in embedded environments, with odd sized screens and formats.

I believe that the BeagelBoard supports modifying the omapfb from the command line, do you know if RPI also supports omapfb settings via the cmdline.txt file such as: "omapfb.mode=" ??

I have tried using xorg.conf and although this allows me to change the screen sizes, it does not appear to allow me to override the EDID settings even by using:

Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
Option "UseEDIDFreqs" "FALSE"

What other options / workarounds do I have to achieve this, I really don't want to give up on this :-)

Or what would I need to do do enable GTF support ??

Many Thanks
> /dev/null 2>&1

sdhayes
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 7:39 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sun Nov 11, 2012 6:56 pm

abishur wrote:Actually I'd say at the present this is absolutely vital to absolute beginners. :-) There's been a lot of issues with newbies getting the device to work just the way they want to on their screens. The directions are concise and easy to follow so even an absolute beginner should be able to type in the single line on the bash prompt to get the modes supported by their TV/monitor.

Side note, I'm using a 5 port HDMI switcher. I've noticed that if I change the active HDMI port off of the pi for a bit, when I swap it back I don't have HDMI output from the pi. It's not that the screen is just black, there is simply no output. I can still SSH into it, so it's not frozen either. Is there a setting in config.txt to add to constantly force HDMI output that might resolve this? I've already set hdmi_mode=16
Hi,

I'm new here and stuggling to get the basics in place so far.

My plan is to build a (Mongo)DB cluster using an old Dell desktop, a laptop and 3x Raspberry Pi.

Today i discovered I can't connect a Pi to my laptop as the laptop is HDMI out only. I could 'see' a Pi on a TV in the bedroom, which had an HDMI socket.

So, my assumption is i'm going to need a switcher than can handle 5x hdmi 'out' and 1x hdmi 'in'

Am I right? Where might i find a suitable one?

Many thanks
Stuart

devnull
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:46 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:03 pm

Would it be possible to hack the Kernel and change one of the existing modes to use the timings and settings I require, or add a new resolution to the end of the existing list ??

I have tried adding the framebuffer settings to linux/drivers/video/modedb.c and re-compiling the kernel but that does not appear to work.

Or is there another way of achieving this ?

Thanks
> /dev/null 2>&1

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:09 pm

devnull wrote:Would it be possible to hack the Kernel and change one of the existing modes to use the timings and settings I require, or add a new resolution to the end of the existing list ??

I have tried adding the framebuffer settings to linux/drivers/video/modedb.c and re-compiling the kernel but that does not appear to work.

Or is there another way of achieving this ?
No, the HDMI is completely controlled by the GPU. There is no code in the kernel (or anywhere on the ARM side) that can program arbitrary HDMI timings.
As explained earlier, waiting for GTF support to be added by our HDMI guy is the only possible solution.

devnull
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:46 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:41 pm

No, the HDMI is completely controlled by the GPU. There is no code in the kernel (or anywhere on the ARM side) that can program arbitrary HDMI timings.
As explained earlier, waiting for GTF support to be added by our HDMI guy is the only possible solution.
Ahh, that's such a shame, I have spent sooo many hours on this, I am guessing that the priority for doing this is going to be pretty low, and that I should not hold my breath.

Thanks for clarifying that, at least now I know there's no way for me to do it and won't waste any more time trying.
> /dev/null 2>&1

devnull
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:46 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:29 am

dom wrote:...our HDMI guy is the only possible solution.
@dom

I sent rpi_newbie a personal message, but it has not been read, I see from his profile that he last visited the form at the end of July, some 4 months ago.

Is there another way that I can contact him ??

Many Thanks
> /dev/null 2>&1

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Wed Nov 14, 2012 5:07 pm

devnull wrote: Is there another way that I can contact him ??

Many Thanks
I think he had a problem with his account and is now rpi_newbie2

devnull
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 7:46 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:16 pm

dom wrote:
devnull wrote: Is there another way that I can contact him ??

Many Thanks
I think he had a problem with his account and is now rpi_newbie2
@dom

Thanks, but I see that rpi_newbie2 lasts visited the forum in August, so it appears he may not be active any more ?
> /dev/null 2>&1

omiez
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 10:10 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:31 pm

I have a LCD Monitor with Dvi-d input, I buyed a Hdmi to Dvi-d adapter but I have run several configs in the txt file but never got a picture.

I also forced Hdmi in the txt and nothing.

Is it possible that the Rpi is overrunning the settings in txt file?

I am using Raspbian and the monitor max resolution is 1600x900 @60hz, I tried also lower res with no luck.

Any suggestion?
Nr.1 Raspberry Pi Mod.B Rev.2 256Mb Ram (Raspbian)

Raspberry Pi Mod.B Rev.2 512Mb Ram (Maybe i´ll get one)

scusting
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:08 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:16 pm

I have my pi hooked up to my 720p Panasonic TV (TH-42PX60) but the display always has large black borders on the left and right which I do not seem to be able to get rid of. The edid output is:

Code: Select all

Enabling fuzzy format match...
Parsing edid...
HDMI:EDID version 1.3, 1 extensions, unknown aspect ratio
HDMI:EDID features - videodef 0x80 !standby !suspend !active off; colour encoding:RGB444|YCbCr422; sRGB is not default colourspace; preferred format is native; does not support GTF
HDMI:EDID found monitor name descriptor tag 0xfc
HDMI:EDID monitor name is PANASONIC-TV_ÀpÀpÈ[email protected]À$	@
HDMI:EDID found monitor range descriptor tag 0xfd
HDMI:EDID monitor range offsets: V min=0, V max=0, H min=0, H max=0
HDMI:EDID monitor range: vertical is 48-61 Hz, horizontal is 15-46 kHz, max pixel clock is 80 MHz
HDMI:EDID monitor range does not support GTF
HDMI:EDID found preferred CEA detail timing format: 1280x720p @ 50 Hz (19)
HDMI:EDID found CEA detail timing format: 1280x720p @ 60 Hz (4)
HDMI:EDID established timing I/II bytes are 00 00 00
HDMI:EDID standard timings block x 8: 0x0101 0101 0101 0101 0101 0101 0101 0101 
HDMI:EDID parsing v3 CEA extension 0
HDMI:EDID monitor support - underscan IT formats:no, basic audio:yes, yuv444:yes, yuv422:yes, #native DTD:2
HDMI:EDID found CEA detail timing format: 1920x1080i @ 50 Hz (20)
HDMI:EDID found CEA detail timing format: 720x576p @ 50 Hz (17)
HDMI:EDID found CEA detail timing format: 1920x1080i @ 60 Hz (5)
HDMI:EDID found CEA detail timing format: 720x480p @ 60 Hz (2)
HDMI:EDID found CEA detail timing format: 720x576p @ 50 Hz (17)
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 19, 1280x720p @ 50Hz (native)
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 4, 1280x720p @ 60Hz (native)
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 20, 1920x1080i @ 50Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 18, 720x576p @ 50Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 5, 1920x1080i @ 60Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 3, 720x480p @ 60Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 17, 720x576p @ 50Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 7, 1440x480i @ 60Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 22, 1440x576i @ 50Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 6, 1440x480i @ 60Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 21, 1440x576i @ 50Hz 
HDMI:EDID found CEA format: code 1, 640x480p @ 60Hz 
HDMI:EDID found audio format 2 channels PCM, sample rate: 32|44|48 kHz, sample size: 16 bits
HDMI:EDID found HDMI VSDB length 6
HDMI:EDID HDMI VSDB has physical address 2.0.0.0
HDMI:EDID HDMI VSDB supports AI:yes, dual link DVI:no
HDMI:EDID HDMI VSDB deep colour support - 48-bit:no 36-bit:no 30-bit:no DC_yuv444:no
HDMI:EDID HDMI VSDB has no latency information
HDMI:EDID adding mandatory support for DMT (4) 640x480p @ 60Hz
HDMI:EDID filtering formats with pixel clock > 162 MHz or h. blanking > 1023
HDMI:EDID best score mode initialised to CEA (1) 640x480p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 25 MHz (score 18432)
HDMI:EDID best score mode is now CEA (1) 640x480p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 25 MHz (score 61864)
HDMI:EDID best score mode is now CEA (2) 720x480p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 27 MHz (score 2566472)
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (3) 720x480p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 27 MHz has a score of 66472
HDMI:EDID best score mode is now CEA (4) 1280x720p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 74 MHz (score 4690888)
HDMI:EDID DMT mode (4) 640x480p @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 25 MHz has a score of 18432
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (5) 1920x1080i @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 74 MHz has a score of 3273832
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (6) 1440x480i @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 27 MHz has a score of 45736
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (7) 1440x480i @ 60 Hz with pixel clock 27 MHz has a score of 45736
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (17) 720x576p @ 50 Hz with pixel clock 27 MHz has a score of 3566472
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (18) 720x576p @ 50 Hz with pixel clock 27 MHz has a score of 66472
HDMI:EDID best score mode is now CEA (19) 1280x720p @ 50 Hz with pixel clock 74 MHz (score 5163240)
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (20) 1920x1080i @ 50 Hz with pixel clock 74 MHz has a score of 4232360
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (21) 1440x576i @ 50 Hz with pixel clock 27 MHz has a score of 45736
HDMI:EDID CEA mode (22) 1440x576i @ 50 Hz with pixel clock 27 MHz has a score of 45736
HDMI:EDID preferred mode remained as CEA (19) 1280x720p @ 50 Hz with pixel clock 74 MHz
HDMI:EDID has HDMI support and audio support
edid_parser exited with code 0
By default its using 1280x720 resolution, just with these black borders. The TV also has VGA input with a resolution of 1366x768 listed so I have tried the following on my config file:

-------------------------
disable_overscan=1
No change

----------------------------
disable_overscan=0
No change

-------------------------
disable_overscan=0
overscan_left=-100
overscan_right=-100

No change

--------------------------
disable_overscan=0
overscan_left=100
overscan_right=100

No change

-------------------------
hdmi_safe=1
Results in 640x480

-----------------------------------
hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080
hdmi_drive=2
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=81

Results in a blank screen

-----------------------------------
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=39
Results in 640x480

-------------------------
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=81
Results in 640x480

-------------------------
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=86
Results in 640x480


I have also tried all the CEA 720p modes which all result in 1280x720 with the borders.

Have I missed anything? I dont have any problems with my satellite receiver which works at 720p, and my Windows 7 PC connected with HDMI works at 1280x720 covering the screen and also works at the resolution 1366x768 via HDMI.

Thanks.

Jim

freedream
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:53 pm

Hello ,
i want to use HDMI connect line to my laptop. my laptop has a HDMI port, need i set some setting? How can i see the Raspberry pi output ? many thanks!

scusting
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 9:08 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:47 pm

freedream wrote:Hello ,
i want to use HDMI connect line to my laptop. my laptop has a HDMI port, need i set some setting? How can i see the Raspberry pi output ? many thanks!
Do you know if the HDMI port is for input as well as output? Most laptops have an HDMI port for output to an external screen, though some models do allow input as well so you will need to check the capabilities of your particular make/model.

Most people output their RasperryPI to a TV or monitor.

EdwinJ85
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:12 am

Hi there,

I need some help please guys. I'm using a raspberry pi model B with 512MB of ram over hdmi-> vga with a £10 ebay active adapter.

It only seems to want to run in hdmi_group 1 and only at 480p @ 60hz. I managed to disable the overscan settings so it at least fills the screen but I'd really like to be able to make full use of my iiyama prolite e380s and it's 1024 x 768 screen. I can't believe this monitor cost £200+ back in 2003. Is there anything I can do?

Btw, I am logged and writing this from a pi in overdrive mode. I don't think I've got the 512 ram fully used (is just got the latest hard float rasbian and ran the config menu to overclock) but its surprisingly responsive and capable as a single tab browser machine!

Thanks,

Edwin.
Last edited by EdwinJ85 on Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Hello!

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5398
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:41 pm
Location: Cambridge

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:16 am

HDMI->VGA adaptors tend to give us a garbage edid. I'd suggest adding these to config.txt (from http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt)

Code: Select all

hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=22
If there are problems with that you could add:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
config_hdmi_boost=4

EdwinJ85
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:28 am

Nah, no joy. It REALLY wants to stay in hdmi_group 1 for some reason, group 2 hasn't booted into anything visible for me ever, but it does power up the monitor's backlight which means something is getting through.

Is there anything else I can try? Thanks for the help :)
Hello!

EdwinJ85
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sat Dec 15, 2012 5:49 pm

Is there any way to get audio over the 3.5mm audio jack? Setting hdmi_drive =1 kills the visuals. =(
Hello!

User avatar
abishur
Posts: 4477
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:35 pm

EdwinJ85 wrote:Is there any way to get audio over the 3.5mm audio jack? Setting hdmi_drive =1 kills the visuals. =(
from the command line

sudo amixer cset numid=3 1

Will set the audio to output via the 3.5mm jack and

sudo amixer cset numid=3 2

Will set it back to HDMI
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)

EdwinJ85
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:16 am

I get this output when I run that command:


[email protected] ~ $ sudo amixer cset numid=3 1
numid=3,iface=MIXER,name='PCM Playback Route'
; type=INTEGER,access=rw------,values=1,min=0,max=2,step=0
: values=1


Does this mean it worked? Thanks.
Hello!

EdwinJ85
Posts: 270
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Sun Dec 16, 2012 1:29 am

Ah, it seems to be working - maybe that option should be in the raspi-config tool?

VLC is playing an mp3 fine. Cheers guys, if only I could up my resolution from 480p to the monitor's native 1024x768 I would be set...
Hello!

ute
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:34 am

Re: Setting up HDMI output

Wed Dec 19, 2012 2:56 am

Ok total newb here ..trying to get HDMI to work ..useing openelec for xbmc

also when I had wheezy it would not run in hdmi either

it will work with the yellow video out in 480p

so how do I make it work with openelec...remember I am a newb so need it basic and spoon fed

Thanks

Return to “Troubleshooting”