DougieLawson

NOOBS RaspBMC and a kernel panic

Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:28 pm

I downloaded the NOOBS zip, unzipped it on to a 4GB SD card (no troubles with that) as I wanted to try RaspBMC to see how it compares to OpenELEC (which I've been running for a few months).

Booted to the Noobs menu with no problems, booted into RaspBMC with no problems.

Then I configured RaspBMC to use my Edimax WiFi dongle, at that point it attempted to download the latest XBMC update and reboot the Pi.

It dies I get the RaspBMC logo and
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(179,2)

Pulled the power, booted my normal Raspbian SD card and mounted the Noobs SD card as /dev/sda sda1, sda2, sda5 and sda6. Ran a fsck on sda1, sda5 and sda6 and all are clean.

Has anyone else seen that kernel panic?
I'm assuming it's either the cmdline or config.txt that has taken a dive but I'm not sure how to check that (or fix it).
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

2012-18: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Z, ZW, 3Bs*3, 3B+

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

DougieLawson

Re: NOOBS RaspBMC and a kernel panic

Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:26 am

I found the cmdline file that had the error. It's got:

Code: Select all

dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 noatime quiet rootwait loglevel=1 persistent-logs zram.num_devices=2
When I change that to:

dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 root=/dev/mmcblk0p6 rootfstype=ext4 noatime quiet rootwait loglevel=1 persistent-logs zram.num_devices=2
then it all works OK.

So there's a bug in the raspbmc / xmbc update scripts, they need to know that the Noobs install of raspbmc installs the root filesystem on a logical partition (p6) not the second primary partition (p2).
Microprocessor, Raspberry Pi & Arduino Hacker
Mainframe database troubleshooter
MQTT Evangelist
Twitter: @DougieLawson

2012-18: 1B*5, 2B*2, B+, A+, Z, ZW, 3Bs*3, 3B+