Gustaw

Getting SSH tunnelled / secured VNC to work

Thu May 23, 2013 2:26 pm

I am new to RPi / Linux and only had limited time to play with it since I bough the kit a couple of weeks ago.
:oops:

For me the whole setup will make true sense if I can access RPi GUI desktop (LXDE) remotely and at least I know it can done.

I searched the web and found all sorts of confusing RPi VNC guides and tutorials.
All seem to lack depth and detail.
:|

Anyway I followed all the steps from http://www.penguintutor.com/ tutorial but got stuck at the very end.
I do not have the RPi here with me right now to test anything straight away so if you have any suggestions then I will test them later on.

I decided to go for the secure VNC setup using SSH tunnelling.
That was probably a mistake (I was too ambitious ?) so I plan to take a step back and test just unsecured VNC to eliminate potential causes of my troubles.

I managed to :
- connect RPi to the home network, both hard wired and wirelessly
- assign two IP addresses to RPi, one for each of two network adapters, both static as assigned via router's reservation table, WiFi MAC filtering is sorted too
- set up basic SSH so I can run RPi terminal on my old XP machine but I wanted to see GUI (I am too old for tortures of command line computing resembling DOS or ZX Spectrum :| )
- set up Tight VNC server with all sorts of more or less random options –localhost –geometry 1024x768 –dpi 96 (probably redundant) –depth 24 – pixelformat rgb565 (or whatever) :?
- force VNC server to start at bootup, it works, it starts at bootup
- set up some sort of SSH tunnel using limited instructions / knowledge available (there are loads of settings in PuTTy than I did not know how to configure e.g. re X11 sessions etc) :?
- set up TightVNC client on the XP machine with default settings
- amend Norton Internet Security settings to allow VNC communication from the localhost :P
- see a huge picture of the raspberry in the VNC client window ... :shock: