alchemistdagger
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:20 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:36 am

Bosse_B wrote:
I got the OS installed
You did not say WHICH operating system (aka distribution) you have installed....
There are a lot of different distributions for the RPi and WiFi is handled differently between them...
sorry, had to look up how to find out:

running wheezy version 7
hope that is what you need

MrEngman
Posts: 4051
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:19 pm

alchemistdagger wrote: did just discover an error (i think), i ran this:

sudo service networking reload

and got this
[....] Reloading network interfaces configuration...ifup: interface lo already configured
wpa_supplicant: /sbin/wpa_supplicant daemon failed to start
run-parts: /etc/network/if-pre-up.d/wpasupplicant exited with return code 1
done.
Here is what i have been looking at:


/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
     ssid="network"
     pks="my password"
     key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
Two problems with /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf First pks= should be psk= and what about the } at the end of the network={ section?


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

alchemistdagger
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:20 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:25 pm

sorry, i hand copied the code, must have missed those typo's, the code is correct as follows:

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
     ssid="network"
     psk="my password"
     key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
     }

ChopperHarris
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 7:06 pm

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:21 pm

Hi all - just a follow up to the helpful posts I had received. Following a length to and fro with TP-Link, It turns out that there was an issue with my router. One factory reset later and everything seems to be behaving now.
Many thanks for your efforts - you helped me to think that it might not be the RPi.

MrEngman
Posts: 4051
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:02 pm

alchemistdagger wrote:sorry, i hand copied the code, must have missed those typo's, the code is correct as follows:

Code: Select all

ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1

network={
     ssid="network"
     psk="my password"
     key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
     }
Looks OK although normally the final } would not have spaces or a tab before it. However it shouldn't stop the wifi connecting. Or it doesn't for me as I just changed the wpa_supplicant.conf on my Pi and added a tab before the final } to check and the wifi still connects and runs OK. So your set up should be OK.

I tried the command you mentioned in your earlier post and received the same error you did but the wifi is connected and working OK

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo service networking reload
[....] Reloading network interfaces configuration...ifup: interface lo already configured
ioctl[SIOCSIWAP]: Operation not permitted
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
wpa_supplicant: /sbin/wpa_supplicant daemon failed to start
run-parts: /etc/network/if-pre-up.d/wpasupplicant exited with return code 1
done.
so doesn't seem very relevant.

It's possible you may have a power supply problem if you have a display connected to your Pi. Is the display powered from the Pi or the Pi powered from the displays power supply or both have separate supplies? Would be worth trying a different supply to the Pi or trying a different, shorter/thicker, cable from the supply to the Pi as a poor quality cable can also cause power issues.

If you can try without the display connected might be worth a try to see how the wifi works. If it works OK then I would expect it is a power supply problem.

One final thing. You could try adding the line max_usb_current=1 to the end of the /boot/config.txt file. The total current available to the USB ports is normally 600mA shared between the 4 ports. Adding that line to config.txt will increase the allowable current to 1200mA and can help keep the wifi running especially if you have other USB devices connected to the Pi, although it's probably not relevant if you only have a wifi adapter connected.


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

alchemistdagger
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:20 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Fri Jan 22, 2016 4:01 am

hooked up separate power supplies for each, raspberry pi and LCD display, made no difference, still no web connection.

ok, did a little more research on my own and came across this forum:

viewtopic.php?f=91&t=31238

which suggested checking my default gateway by pinging 8.8.8.8, came back unable to ping, and also the results of

route -n

gave default gateway as 0.0.0.0

so based on this forum

viewtopic.php?f=66&t=90469

i added the following line:
sudo route add default gw 192.168.0.1
i was able to get a ping back from 8.8.8.8. but not from pinging google.com and still no web pages.

also saw a post about checking /etc/resolv.conf which contained the following:

Code: Select all

# Generated by resolvconf
domain domain.actdsltmp
the first link above showed this file containing "nameserver 192.168.1.1" but mine doesn't, not sure if i need this

MrEngman
Posts: 4051
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Fri Jan 22, 2016 9:56 am

Looks like your problem might be more how your router is set up to handle dhcp that due to anything else then. Normally I would expect the router to supply the gateway and nameserver IP's when you use dhcp to connect your Pi to the network. Might be an idea to check your routers configuration or reset it and see how it then behaves.

If you have a windows machine run command ipconfig /all in a cmd window or the equivalent on a Mac and it should show the gateway and nameserver addresses it uses. And set the same values on the Pi.

On my network the gateway and nameserver IP's are the same, 192.168.16.2, as I have a server that uses dhcp and dns (domain name server). As your network appears to use IP's 192.168.0.xx then it's not a good idea to use 192.168.1.1 as the name server as this is a different local network IP. If your router is set to operate as a nameserver or can point to your ISP's name server, the nameserver IP should probably be 192.168.0.1, same as your gateway. Otherwise try setting the nameserver to 8.8.8.8 to test if it then works.



MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

Krishnaraj
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:14 pm

Hai,
Am totally new to RPi. Right now am facing a problem with my Wifi Dongle.
I have connected my wifi dongle to pi and updated the packages so I was able to connect my pi with router. I can able to ping all the devices on my network including my Phone and Laptop but I am not able to access internet. But I can access internet when I connect pi through LAN cable. please help me to resolve this ..
Thank you ..

alchemistdagger
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 8:20 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Fri Jan 22, 2016 5:47 pm

ok, i figured out if i add the gateway as stated above and add the nameserver to resolv.conf, i get internet access. Great. problems is, these changes are not kept on reboot. I have to add the gateway and nameserver each time i reboot. have any idea how to make these changes permanent?

keylimepi
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:33 pm

Passkey rejected as too short

Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:43 pm

Since upgrading to Jessie, I get "Passkey rejected probably too short". The passkey works fine with all of my other wireless devices. Any idea what is wrong?

vikki
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:01 am

Re: WiFi Issues ?

Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:46 am

Hello,
we are unable to show wlan0 when run "ifconfig -a" and unable to configure wifi on RPITC2 r_1.99 Os raspberry pi 2 model B,

please go Through attached file

vikki
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:01 am

Re: WiFi Issues

Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:54 am

Hello

Wifi Issues kindly find attached file
Attachments
wifi issues1.jpg
wifi issues1.jpg (22.64 KiB) Viewed 5339 times

MrEngman
Posts: 4051
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Wed Jan 27, 2016 9:40 am

The screen shot is impossible to read.



MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

ScottChapman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:15 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:24 am

running current Jessie on Pi^2 with Edimax dongle. And I was getting really flaky results. wifi access was up and down totally unreliable. Back on wired network and rock stable.

Any ideas? I rebooted entire network and Pi many times trying to isolate. I've not done any network configuration on the device at all. All DHCP on my network.

Finalskate
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 3:13 pm

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:47 pm

Hello,
I bought a WiFi key CSL 300. I followed up to your advice, but unfortunately my key will randomly connect to my WiFi network when starting the Raspberry Pi.
Of course, I added "auto wlan0" in /etc/network/interfaces.
I use wpa-supplicant, the file is completed as advised, etc.
But my worry is that the key still does not connect automatically, sometimes when I start and it is not connected I can read all networks within range, but I can not connect to it !

Thank you ! :D
Last edited by Finalskate on Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ScottChapman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:15 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:48 pm

I am going to this when I get a chance...

viewtopic.php?t=61665

feazzu
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 9:28 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Sun Jan 31, 2016 5:43 pm

Hi All,
i saw just now this thread.

here's mine
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=134583
pls help!! :(

Thanks in advance

ScottChapman
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:15 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:17 am

OK, the fix mentioned in my posting earlier fixed my problem. Made my wifi great again!

picky-picasso
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 11:38 pm

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:33 pm

So far, everything that refers to selecting or connecting a WiFi network from the desktop refers to the wifi icon in the top right corner of the screen. While this was a reality in pre-Jessie versions of Raspbian, I have found that with Jessie, on the desktop, if the pi is connected to an Ethernet network, then a different icon shows here - one with two computer images - and I cannot configure the Wifi situation unless the pi is already on a wifi network.

I am an idiot, and it's more than likely I am wrong. Can anyone point out where I am looking in the wrong place or doing the wrong thing?

Thanks in advance,

pp

feazzu
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 9:28 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:04 am

feazzu wrote:Hi All,
i saw just now this thread.

here's mine
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=134583
pls help!! :(

Thanks in advance
Ok, solved with this:
viewtopic.php?p=462982.

Thanks

Paul_pi
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:07 pm

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Wed Feb 03, 2016 9:16 am

Hi

Is anyone able to help with my issue that's been going on for couple of weeks now?

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=134671&p=898307#p898307

Many thanks

soad1337
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:38 am

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:43 am

Hello,

i have the same Adapter as:
f-pi-00 wrote:
MrEngman wrote:
f-pi-00 wrote:Hi I recently bought the TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450 for my Pi but I cant find a driver for it. Can anyone help me?
Thanks a lot.
Post the output of command lsusb to show the USB id of the wifi module.


MrEngman
Hi Thank you for your reply. The lsusb output is:
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 2357:0105
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0e8f:0022 GreenAsia Inc.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0458:0056 KYE Systems Corp. (Mouse Systems) Ergo 300 Mouse
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:002 Linux Fundation 2.0 root hub

Thanks a lot
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 2357:0105
but i am using a newer kernel version: 4.4.0-1-osmc

is there an update for the mt7610 driver that i can use with the newer kernel?:
by MrEngman » Mon Dec 28, 2015 5:05 pm

f-pi-00 wrote:

Sorry but I forgot to ask you to post the output of command uname -a as well. Can you do that please?

MrEngman


That's ok. The uname -a output is: Linux raspberrypi 4.1.13 - v7 + #826 SMP PREEMPT Fri Nov 13 20:19:03 GMT 2015 armv7l GNU/Linux

thanks


You should be able to download and install the driver using commands

Code: Select all
wget https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/802 ... 826.tar.gz
tar xzf mt7610-4.1.13-v7-826.tar.gz
./install.sh

There is, for some reason I haven't figured out why, an issue that the driver will not work at 5GHz on kernel 4.1.xx, but it runs alright at 2.4GHz.

EDIT: If you get an error downloading wait a while as there are a number of files uploading to Dropbox and it may take some time.


MrEngman
Thanks a lot
Soad1337

izzyinstl
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 7:16 pm

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Wed Feb 10, 2016 7:31 pm

I also have the TP_LINK Archer T1U

my uname -a Linux raspberrypi 4.1.17-v7+ #838 SMP
lsusb is : Device 007: ID 2357:0105

can you help me with this? I tried your solution but since I have 4.1.17 #838 i received errors on file creations

Thanks
John
(noob at this)

robboz4
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:48 pm

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Wed Feb 10, 2016 8:00 pm

I have had wi-fi working on the Pi since day one. However, i have just updated an image and I cannot get wifi to come up. I'm using the image for Octopi and their wifi instructions state to modify octopi-network.txt with the SSID and passcode and away you go. The /etc/network/interfaces file contains a source statement:
source /boot/octopi-network.txt

Well the wifi isn't coming up. I have followed the above instructions and get this on the ifup command:

sudo ifup wlan0
ioctl[SIOCSIWAP]: Operation not permitted
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument
ioctl[SIOCSIWENCODEEXT]: Invalid argument

Any clues as to how to fix this?

Here are the lsub, lsmod and wpa_cli outputs. All seems ok.

lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 7392:7811 Edimax Technology Co., Ltd EW-7811Un 802.11n Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS]

lsmod
Module Size Used by
cfg80211 462846 0
rfkill 22347 2 cfg80211
snd_bcm2835 21149 0
snd_pcm 90778 1 snd_bcm2835
snd_seq 61097 0
snd_seq_device 7209 1 snd_seq
snd_timer 23007 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd 66325 5 snd_bcm2835,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_seq_device
8192cu 569561 0
uio_pdrv_genirq 3666 0
uio 9897 1 uio_pdrv_genirq

sudo wpa_cli scan && sudo wpa_cli scan_results
Selected interface 'wlan0'
OK
Selected interface 'wlan0'
bssid / frequency / signal level / flags / ssid
f4:6d:04:6d:04:48 2412 96 [WPA2-PSK-CCMP][WPS][ESS] Club-Robbo-2
c6:3d:c7:8d:3b:fd 2412 70 [WPS][WEP][ESS] Club-Robbo_EXT
ac:5d:10:48:67:4e 2457 96 [WEP][ESS] Club-Robbo
30:b5:c2:aa:06:81 2412 46 [WPA-PSK-CCMP][WPA2-PSK-CCMP][WPS][ESS] TP-LINK_2.4GHz_AA0681

As far as I know the SSID and password are correct.

robboz4
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:48 pm

Re: WiFi Issues ? Start here !

Fri Feb 12, 2016 1:38 am

Looks like I finally solved it. I loaded the correct driver and fixed one typo( there's always one somewhere!) and I have it running..

Return to “Troubleshooting”