Solarshock

Project Temp sensor - Pi not installing new Modules

Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:13 pm

Hey guys,

First time posting, but ive been working with my Pi at work now for a couple weeks. Im a complete beginner in most of this (linux, Pi's..etc..) but have experience with circuits. Im building a temperature sensor using an LM75.

I've looked through a couple guides on using a temp sens. through a Pi and I was certain I had got the setup working. (edit:1) - I am using wheezy image.

However:

When attempting to install 2 modules (sudo apt-get install python-smbus and sudo apt-get install lm sensors), both give the same error code:

dpkg: warning: parsing file '/var/lib/dpkg/available' near line 6746 package 'gnupg' :
'depends' field, reference to 'libreadline6':
'>' is obsolete, use '>=' or '>>' instead
dpkg: error: parsing file '/var/lib/dpkg/available' near line 6746 package 'gnupg' :
'depends' field, reference to 'libreadline6': version contains
E: sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)

I have tried searching for this error and the problems many times to no avail, I have tried reboots and I have seen a linux user in my workplace, who has not been able to help as of yet (today).

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)
Going to be trying a clean install and seeing if it works then tomorrow.

terrycarlin

Re: Project Temp sensor - Pi not installing new Modules

Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:31 pm

Did you do a

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update
before your

sudo apt-get install package
?
The update is pretty much required before each session of installing packages.
It is also wise to do a

sudo apt-get upgrade
after the update just to keep everything current.
If it ain't broke, take it apart and see how it works.

rocketero

Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:15 am

the problem is that you have a corrupted /var/lib/dpkg/available file, as a result it won't work if you try to do 'sudo apt-get dist-upgrade' or 'sudo apt-get install packagename'