I3odybag

Custom Splash Screen

Wed Feb 26, 2020 8:40 pm

I am new to Raspberry Pi and purchased a RP4 for a project at work to use as a kiosk. I am having a issue trying to get the custom splash screen to work. I had a hard time finding instructions for a RP4 in order to get this working. I started with using the lastest version of Raspbian Lite and then followed the instructions on the page below. When the system boots up all I get is a blank screen which is a step in the right direction over the lines of boot up text. But the custom screen does not display when the system is booting up.

I tried to do some troubleshooting from what I could find in the comments on the youtube video for the instructions and found the following two commands. When I run these commands the Custom Splash screen shows up on the screen as I want it. That leads me to think the file is in the correct location. Anyone able to help? This is for a work project and I'd like to be able to get it to work properly.

sudo plymouthd
sudo plymouth --show-splash

https://wiredzero.com/kiosk

Botspot

Re: Custom Splash Screen

Wed Feb 26, 2020 10:05 pm

Good instructions to try here, though they may be outdated: https://scribles.net/customizing-boot-u ... pberry-pi/
Have you enabled the splash screen in sudo raspi-config?
Want to run Minecraft Java on your RPi? Easiest way is with Pi-Apps - just click Install.
https://github.com/Botspot/pi-apps
Pi-Apps also includes Zoom, Visual Studio, Tor browser, Windows 10 theme, and 33 more.
Over 50,000 users!

I3odybag

Wed Feb 26, 2020 10:41 pm