jreebel

Inconsistent results with Freenove kit

Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:34 pm

I'm new to the Pi, just got a 4B for Christmas, then purchased the Freenove Ultimate Starter Kit. My relevant background is 35 years of professional programming experience in various languages (now learning Python), some usage of Unix and nothing about electronics although lots of DIY experience with electricity (rewired my garage, added circuits, etc.).

My problem is the results I'm getting trying to work with this kit. Whenever I reach the point where I think the basics are starting to make sense things immediately go south. I have set up various circuits to make an LED blink based on Youtube tutorials and the tutorial from the kit. Some worked, some didn't. My latest experience has me completely frustrated and I'm hoping somebody here can tell me what I'm doing wrong or suggest some new approach.

I set up a very simple circuit to blink an LED. Just the LED, a resistor, jumpers to ground and GPIO 04, and a bit of simple Python code. It worked. The next morning I ran it again. Still worked. I moved one of the jumpers from the ground to the negative rail on the breadboard and added a jumper from the ground to the negative rail. Didn't work. Went back to the original setup. Didn't work. Aaargh! If I move the jumper from GPIO 04 to the 3.3 v pin the LED lights up, so the circuit must be OK, right? Put it back on GPIO 04 and the (unchanged) program doesn't work. I've attached a pic of the setup. Any thoughts? Please, before I run screaming down the street.
IMG_1510(1).jpg
The world is divided into 2 types of people, those who divide the world into 2 types of people and those who do not.

richrussell

Re: Inconsistent results with Freenove kit

Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:34 am