LJ_FIN

what would happen if wire a 5V battery to the 5VDC gpio pins of a rasbary pi 4

Tue Dec 31, 2019 10:29 am

sorry if I say something dumb I'm a noob. I understand that I may have to have multiple batteries of lower voltage in a series to get the correct voltage but in this thread I'm about how many amps the pi draws. Is there a risk of to many amps being fed into the pi and it shorting can someone explain:

What determines how many amps the pi draws when wired to a battery with no fixed current
Why it doesn't draw a fixed amount of amps
Are there extra procedures to prevent the pi from shorting
Is there a max current that the pi takes
And does increasing the current the pi draws make it faster

gordon77

Re: what would happen if wire a 5V battery to the 5VDC gpio pins of a rasbary pi 4

Tue Dec 31, 2019 10:46 am

The pi will draw the current it needs. For a pi 3 upto 2.5A, for a pi 4 upto 3A.

The current will depend on processes running and additional items eg usb devices.

You can't make it take more current than it needs and you can't make it go faster with current.

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Re: what would happen if wire a 5V battery to the 5VDC gpio pins of a rasbary pi 4

Tue Dec 31, 2019 10:51 am

The Pi will only draw the current it needs, but the voltage needs to be kept within a fairly narrow band (±5% is recommended) of the nominal 5V. Too high and there is a risk of damage, too low and the system may flake out. When undervoltage is detected the system will reduce the CPU speed (and hence reduce the input current) to try and stop the power rail completely collapsing.

The narrow range of acceptable voltages and the high input current makes supplying the pi directly off batteries troublesome.

Firstly batteries don't come in arbitary voltages. The nominal voltage of a cell depends mostly on the chemistry and you can only have an integer number of cells.