EdwinJ85
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

How do I use all the 512 ram?

Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:30 am

Hi guys. I just installed the latest rasbian build on my 512mb ram pi. What do I need to do to make sure I am using all of it?

I have heard you can't just go edit the memory split in the config file without updating the drivers. Does anybody have any more information?

Thanks.
Hello!

User avatar
Dweeber
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:35 am
Location: Mesa, AZ
Contact: Website

Re: How do I use all the 512 ram?

Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:53 am

If it is the latest raspian - 2012-10-28-wheezy-raspbian after you do the setup (which includes raspi-config and doing the update), you should be able to edit the /boot/config.txt file and add the GPU split you want.

The minimum split is 16, the default is 64

gpu_mem GPU memory in megabyte. Sets the memory split between the ARM and GPU. ARM gets the remaining memory. Min 16. Default 64

or

gpu_mem_512 GPU memory in megabyte for the 512MB Raspberry Pi. Ignored by the 256MB RP. Overrides gpu_mem. Max 448. Default not set

Ref:
http://elinux.org/RPiconfig#Memory
Dweeber A.K.A. Kevin...
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com

EdwinJ85
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: How do I use all the 512 ram?

Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:06 pm

Dweeber wrote:If it is the latest raspian - 2012-10-28-wheezy-raspbian after you do the setup (which includes raspi-config and doing the update), you should be able to edit the /boot/config.txt file and add the GPU split you want.

The minimum split is 16, the default is 64

gpu_mem GPU memory in megabyte. Sets the memory split between the ARM and GPU. ARM gets the remaining memory. Min 16. Default 64

or

gpu_mem_512 GPU memory in megabyte for the 512MB Raspberry Pi. Ignored by the 256MB RP. Overrides gpu_mem. Max 448. Default not set

Ref:
http://elinux.org/RPiconfig#Memory

I've done everything but the update. What command do I need to run for that?

Thanks,

Edwin.
Hello!

User avatar
Dweeber
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:35 am
Location: Mesa, AZ
Contact: Website

Re: How do I use all the 512 ram?

Thu Dec 13, 2012 4:09 pm

One of the menu options of raspi-config


$ sudo raspi-config

Image
Dweeber A.K.A. Kevin...
My RPI Info Pages including Current Setup - http://rpi.tnet.com

EdwinJ85
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: How do I use all the 512 ram?

Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:11 pm

Thanks, I set it to 256mb, seems to be a slight improvement in system speed. Task manager says I am using 248mb of ram, so as the minimum gpu ram is 16 I assume it must have worked.

What is the best split for running a desktop on though - I am guessing I am giving the GPU too much memory. I can see in task manager that most processes have loads of data in virtual memory and swapping it in and our is hammering the cpu.

Thanks.
Hello!

User avatar
Lob0426
Posts: 2198
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:30 pm
Location: Susanville CA.
Contact: Website

Re: How do I use all the 512 ram?

Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:22 am

If you are not seeing all of your memory with;

Code: Select all

cat /proc/meminfo
then type at the prompt;

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
This updates your RasPi system to the newest firmware.

You can then check your config.txt file for the gpu_mem settings.

Code: Select all

sudo nano /boot/config.txt
It should be set to 64(MB) as they stated above. If not add this to the bottom of the file.

Code: Select all

gpu_mem=64
then ctrl +x then Y then enter, that saves the changes to config.txt.
512MB version 2.0 as WordPress Server
Motorola Lapdock with Pi2B
Modded Rev 1.0 with pin headers at USB

http://rich1.dyndns.tv/
(RS)Allied ships old stock to reward its Customers for long wait!

EdwinJ85
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:44 pm
Contact: Website

Re: How do I use all the 512 ram?

Fri Dec 14, 2012 1:15 pm

I have already done that. but is 64mb really enough for the GPU when running LXDE? It seems not to be very much memory at all.

I know the 256/256 split I have now is a bad idea but I still want to give the GPU a little breathing room, I was wondering what setups are recommended?

Thank you for the command to check the memory from the cli btw, that will be helpful!

:)
Hello!

Return to “Troubleshooting”