Page 1 of 1

Cannot write SD

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 4:06 pm
by discomark10
Hi guys, this is my first PI. I'm gagging to use it (after waiting 4 months). But I seem to be having some problems getting the iso to write. (images for the cards ect below)

1st problem.

I have a Micro SD in an adapter, it seems to write fine ( either Debian or Raspbian ) but when I go to boot it flashes 4 ligts (I think, its rather fast possibly 3 lights).

2nd problem.

As the 1st method didnt work I brought an SD card which didnt work on the lil laptop which has the SD card reader built in, So I ended up buying a reader.
The new SD in the reader reads fine, but when I go to write to it, it either fails and acts as if the sd was removed (windows hardware removed sound and error 2 on win32 disk imager, Or it seems to write, but only takes 5 secconds (to fast for an almost 2gb file).

Oh and the lil write prtect button is in the right place ;)

HELP!!
Image

Many thanks Mark

Re: Cannot write SD

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 4:46 pm
by discomark10
Oh and the micro SD in the adapter in the new reader also does the same thing (fails with error 2 ect..)

Re: Cannot write SD

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 4:55 pm
by Dweeber
I only use MicroSDHC cards in all of my RPi in SDCard adapters... Writing via USB (When it is in a USB Thumb drive) is much better supported than using a regular SDCard in a lot of computers.

If you have one, you should try a different SDCard adapter for your MicroSD card. They are sometimes loose... and it is possible that their might be something wrong with it.

Re: Cannot write SD

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:02 pm
by discomark10
Dweeber wrote:I only use MicroSDHC cards in all of my RPi in SDCard adapters... Writing via USB (When it is in a USB Thumb drive) is much better supported than using a regular SDCard in a lot of computers.

If you have one, you should try a different SDCard adapter for your MicroSD card. They are sometimes loose... and it is possible that their might be something wrong with it.
The reader was lose, but I've since sorted it. seems to start to write.. just like the normal SD but the errors.