jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 25461
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:04 am

dangerous_dave33 wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:03 pm
Hi there! I baught myself a new pi 4 and want to have a 4k 60Hz output.

I am using hdmi port 0 with an amazon basics hdmi to mini-hdmi 2.0 cable.
Unfortunately is only shows 30Hz- on my TV and my monitor (both capable to do 60 Hz).

I have "hdmi_enable_4kp60=1" in my config.

Does anyone have a clue what coud be wrong?
Capital K?
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I own the world’s worst thesaurus. Not only is it awful, it’s awful."

dangerous_dave33
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:03 pm

jamesh wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:04 am
dangerous_dave33 wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:03 pm
Hi there! I baught myself a new pi 4 and want to have a 4k 60Hz output.

I am using hdmi port 0 with an amazon basics hdmi to mini-hdmi 2.0 cable.
Unfortunately is only shows 30Hz- on my TV and my monitor (both capable to do 60 Hz).

I have "hdmi_enable_4kp60=1" in my config.

Does anyone have a clue what coud be wrong?
Capital K?
I'm sorry, I don't understand?!

aBUGSworstnightmare
Posts: 1679
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:13 pm

Jamesh wants to know if your typing in config.txt is correct.
have a look here for details https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... tom%20Mode

What's the output for 'tvservice -m DMT'?

dangerous_dave33
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:12 pm

aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:13 pm
Jamesh wants to know if your typing in config.txt is correct.
have a look here for details https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... tom%20Mode

What's the output for 'tvservice -m DMT'?
Ah, thanks! :D

I did a clean installation and added the code with "sudo raspi-config", it now shows at the bottom of config.txt:

Code: Select all

# NOOBS Auto-generated Settings:
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_enable_4kp60=1
gpu_mem=256


My output for 'tvservice -m DMT' is:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~ $ sudo tvservice -m DMT
Group DMT has 5 modes:
           mode 4: 640x480 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:25MHz progressive 
           mode 9: 800x600 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:40MHz progressive 
           mode 16: 1024x768 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:65MHz progressive 
           mode 35: 1280x1024 @ 60Hz 5:4, clock:108MHz progressive 
           mode 39: 1360x768 @ 60Hz 16:9, clock:85MHz progressive 

Many thanks in advance!

drgeoff
Posts: 10356
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:36 pm

jamesh wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:04 am
I am using hdmi port 0 with an amazon basics hdmi to mini-hdmi 2.0 cable.
Something amiss there as the RPi4B has micro-HDMI sockets, not mini- ones.

aBUGSworstnightmare
Posts: 1679
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:35 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:58 pm

dangerous_dave33 wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:12 pm
aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:13 pm
Jamesh wants to know if your typing in config.txt is correct.
have a look here for details https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... tom%20Mode

What's the output for 'tvservice -m DMT'?
Ah, thanks! :D

I did a clean installation and added the code with "sudo raspi-config", it now shows at the bottom of config.txt:

Code: Select all

# NOOBS Auto-generated Settings:
hdmi_force_hotplug=1
hdmi_enable_4kp60=1
gpu_mem=256


My output for 'tvservice -m DMT' is:

Code: Select all

[email protected]:~ $ sudo tvservice -m DMT
Group DMT has 5 modes:
           mode 4: 640x480 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:25MHz progressive 
           mode 9: 800x600 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:40MHz progressive 
           mode 16: 1024x768 @ 60Hz 4:3, clock:65MHz progressive 
           mode 35: 1280x1024 @ 60Hz 5:4, clock:108MHz progressive 
           mode 39: 1360x768 @ 60Hz 16:9, clock:85MHz progressive 

Many thanks in advance!
from that output your TV or monitor doesn't support 4k resolution.

dangerous_dave33
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:45 pm

drgeoff wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:36 pm
jamesh wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:04 am
I am using hdmi port 0 with an amazon basics hdmi to mini-hdmi 2.0 cable.
Something amiss there as the RPi4B has micro-HDMI sockets, not mini- ones.
my mistake, of course i wanted to write micro hdmi

dangerous_dave33
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:55 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:49 pm

aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:58 pm

from that output your TV or monitor doesn't support 4k resolution.
then I misapplied the command or something wrong is displayed.
These are definitely 4k display devices.
I even get 4k output - only with 30 Hz.

pota
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:07 am

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:22 am

Hi guys, I have the same problem with my raspberry, and I'm lookin for some help.

I have a pi 4 4gb, official hdmi raspberry cable, my TV is an LG55B8.

I plugged the hdmi connector 0, the closest from the power supplier, and enable 4k60 (but just to be sure, I have to add :

# hdmi_enable_4kp60=1

in a new line on the config.txt right? (noob here)

and with all these things, I can't see 60hz in the screen layer window.... Any help will be highly aprreciated!

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 25461
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:43 am

pota wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:22 am
Hi guys, I have the same problem with my raspberry, and I'm lookin for some help.

I have a pi 4 4gb, official hdmi raspberry cable, my TV is an LG55B8.

I plugged the hdmi connector 0, the closest from the power supplier, and enable 4k60 (but just to be sure, I have to add :

# hdmi_enable_4kp60=1

in a new line on the config.txt right? (noob here)

and with all these things, I can't see 60hz in the screen layer window.... Any help will be highly aprreciated!
Take the # off the start, that makes the line a comment and ignored.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I own the world’s worst thesaurus. Not only is it awful, it’s awful."

pota
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2019 8:07 am

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:48 am

Well.... it did work perfectly without the # !!! thanks a lot, that was so simple! :D

Dashrendar2507
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:07 pm

Same thing happens for me on my TCL 55R617. Enabled 4kp60 but I still only see 30hz in the display settings. I'm not extremely knowledgeable when it comes to adding display modes and such, so would someone have a suggestion?

Ps. I'd settle for 1440p60, but I don't know how to add that to my display modes...

Kendek
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:39 pm
Location: Kaposvár, Hungary

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:08 am

Dashrendar2507 wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:07 pm
Same thing happens for me on my TCL 55R617. Enabled 4kp60 but I still only see 30hz in the display settings. I'm not extremely knowledgeable when it comes to adding display modes and such, so would someone have a suggestion?

Ps. I'd settle for 1440p60, but I don't know how to add that to my display modes...
Check your TV's user manual, page 120. Select the HDMI 2.0 mode.

Dashrendar2507
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:05 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Sat Nov 23, 2019 6:52 pm

Kendek wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 10:08 am
Dashrendar2507 wrote:
Wed Nov 20, 2019 9:07 pm
Same thing happens for me on my TCL 55R617. Enabled 4kp60 but I still only see 30hz in the display settings. I'm not extremely knowledgeable when it comes to adding display modes and such, so would someone have a suggestion?

Ps. I'd settle for 1440p60, but I don't know how to add that to my display modes...
Check your TV's user manual, page 120. Select the HDMI 2.0 mode.
Hey Kendek, thanks a lot! I'm pretty sure it was already in that mode but I tried again and it worked! Thanks again.

Now, that might be unrelated but I'm trying to get Parsec to work on the Pi 4. I'm getting a 7007 error every time. I've heard that the Parsec team are working on it. Do any of you have experience with that?

Robc66
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:19 pm

Re: 4k 60 hz is not listed, only 30hz

Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:25 pm

Hi everyone, first time post here but I just ran into this problem on my new pi 4 with Hisense H50M3300 tv, it ended up being a power supply issue to the pi 4, I had to plugged into my tv usb which I guess wasn't giving it enough power....switched it over to a samsung usb plug and it worked fine. Now running 3840x2160p at 60hz. Hope this helps other people !

Return to “Troubleshooting”